We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what is says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant 4 night stay overall. We've never been to Gibraltar and we were considering this hotel as a possible wedding venue next year. We emailed the hotel twice prior to attending with this information - hoping for some advanced information for our wedding plans; but they didn't reply. Also when we checked in we were treated like strangers. This coupled with a rather 'down at heal' reception area made for a huge anti-climax after the excitement of planning this quick but very important break.

Our room was much better than the reception area with a modern and well fitted bathroom, huge bed and clean surroundings. A small balcony overlooked the rear drinking area and the air conditioning worked fine. The safe was free and simple to program. There was tea and coffee making facilities, a new iron and board and a hair dryer in the dressing table drawer. Hot water was in abundance, the bath large and the shower powerful. The TV was great but with limited UK channels.

We were staying on a B and B basis and breakfast was lovely. Situated on the top floor the restaurant over looked the rooftop pool with panoramic views from the windows across the peninsula. All tastes were catered for with full English, continental and a variety of cakes and pastries. It was self service with table service for tea and coffee.

The hotel is perfectly situated for Main Street and it's huddled together English and Spanish shops together with numerous banks, pubs, restaurants and nick nac shops. At a steady pace Ocean Village could be reached in 15 minutes which has a slightly more upmarket feel with nice restaurants and yet more shops.

The cable car which whisks you to the top of the rock in 3 minutes is also a 15 minute walk from the hotel. This is an essential visit and seeing the monkeys and the caves at the peak was the highlight of the trip.

This hotel is presented as one of the best in Gib, but being brutal it would just about make 3 stars in the UK. It's a mixture of run down, old, and nicely refurbished. That said, all of the staff were polite, friendly and helpful - and due to the fantastic climate bed and breakfast was literally all we did there.

There was a wedding party of 75 on our final night which the hotel seemed to take in its stride. Shame about the guests brief punch up at 5am under our balcony - but that could happen anywhere.

In summary we would definitely revisit Gibraltar and happily stay at this hotel for a few days. But it's most certainly not for us with regards to a wedding - and has gone so far as to put us off marriage abroad full stop. But this is just personal opinion and feelings and I'm sure couples in the 20-35 age bracket would probably find the venue great for tying the knot.


Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cowman4Darlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Cowman4Darlington,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry you did not get a reply to your wedding enquiry, we have had a change of staff in our banqueting department.
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate.
We are doing a total refurbishment this year and this will cover you comments on the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel and enjoyed every second of our trip. Our room was large clean and incredibly comfortable, the breakfast was superb and the Hotel's location is perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Susanna D,

Thank you for your lovely review and it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was in a good central location to walk to restaurants, shops and bars. A lot of places in Gibraltar are tired looking and in need of some TLC. The Elliot falls into this category too, along with a lot of the pubs. Our room was clean enough and comfortable but the bathroom could do with some attention. The rooms have small verandas but there are no chairs to sit out. We asked reception and someone brought chairs up to us, so we enjoyed sitting in the sun, looking out over the bay. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Every time people asked where we were staying they said the Elliot was the best hotel in Gibraltar. Had a chance to see in rooms at the Rock. Old rooms are awful but refurbishment is taking place and if they take that standard all through the hotel.............it will be the best.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor or you might be looking into another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ootnaboot16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Ootnaboot16,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are also doing a refurbishment this year and I hope you will enjoy our end product.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

10 day stay bed and breakfast ,staff very friendly and helpful, Ala and Eva especially, breakfast great,hotel very clean, rooms very clean,being refurbished in september hope prices don,t increase, would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 050353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear 050353,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us, and I will pass on your lovely compliments to Ala and Eva.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Generally I found this hotel good. However I had some problems. On check in I was not given the room I booked. It should have been a superior room with a rock view. It had no view and was not a superior room. On mentioning this I was offered ONE free drink at the bar!!!
The room was ok generally. Spacious and comfortable. The air con however wasn't very cool, and threw out flakes of dried mud onto the carpet. This wasn't spotted by the cleaner and stayed there for 2 days.

Good bathroom with a nice powerful shower.
The pool was being refurbished so we couldn't use it.
Only tried the restaurant for breakfast which was ok but there could have been a bit more choice. I was also charged for breakfast on one day at check out even though our rate included breakfast. Had to have that removed from the bill.
Despite all that I would go back. Great location, just off Main Street. Well placed for the energetic walk up the rock.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Yugs,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,
I do apologise for the problems you had during your stay and I have now spoken with each department.
I would like to offer you an upgrade to a suite on your next visit to Gibraltar.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at LX Boutique Hotel the during my buisness trip to Lisboa. Perfect location for both business and pleasure. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is good. Clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The breakfast was splendid and the service excellent. I will definitively come back next time I am in Lisboa.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seaside are more quiet and with a better views. A challenge with the automatic curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel, staying there whilst attending a wedding. Rooms spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. The sea view over to Africa was lovely. Central location with only a short stroll into town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet29649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Janet29649,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,273 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range: $146 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing