We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Eliott is in a great location. Stayed here for each of the last 5 years. Can get very busy as it's popular for 'group' visits. Pool and restaurant are on the roof, restaurant can get crowded at breakfast time, poolside tables are available but the weather can rule these out.
Staff are very helpful and as it's Gibraltar, everyone is friendly!
As Gib is so small nothing is too far away, The Eliott is ideal as a base for touring out.
Gib is very busy, forget car hire, either book a cab or hire a scooter. Remember the taxi's can only take you to the border with Spain at La Linea, they are not allowed to travel into Spain, also the border crossing can be notoriously bad with long delays unless you are on foot...

Room Tip: Avoid being beneath the pool/restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear ThatNiceCouple 2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your returning very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    767
    348
    132
    40
See reviews for
312
825
103
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

One of the two 'outposts' of the O'Callaghan irish group is situated just off Main St in Gibraltar - 10 minutes by taxi from the airport. A modern well run hotel - bedrooms good size, iron,safe, TV etc but no mini bar - decent beds/ breakfast served on 8th floor which has wonderful views to the sea - reasonable range - I ate dinner once which was okay but not saying much as eating in Gibraltar is generally pretty poor, even if you find somewhere open. Staff willing and helpful. Beware exorbitant charges this group makes for wi-fi, unless you book direct to hotel or as i did make an arrangement beforehand.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have views and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to be inside the border for the flight home in the morning. Good location but difficult to find in a hire car. You need to be a confident driver in a small car! Careful using the car park (which is 12 euros per day) as the receptionist told us we would be fine for an hour to unload luggage & then return car to hire company. Returned to find car clamped, the Manager did phone clamping company & got it removed for us (no charge) but it was a pain waiting around for them to return.

Staff were very friendly & our room was lovely. The bed was very comfortable with cotton bedding. We were up on the 7th floor overlooking houses on the Rock, not the best view maybe but fascinating to look at.

Breakfast hall was small & busy which concerned me as we didn't have long before leaving for flight but we were given a table in another room & had a pot of tea delivered very promptly. Disappointed there were no fried eggs with the English Breakfast & the scrambled were too soggy.

Managed to find a pub 5 minutes walk away which did a really lovely meal at a good price too.
Taxi to airport was quick & easy, £8

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear TheJMS,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will have a word with our Chef re the scrambled eggs.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday 14 th February to sun 16 th February. There were 3 couple in our group. It was our first time at this hotel, we normally stay at the Rock. 2 of us were on 5 th floor 1 on the 4 th floor. Our room was clean, spacious and a view of the sea. The staff were very friendly , in the bar the service was very good, very polite at all times. The only thing I would say is a negative is the breakfast. It seems too many people for a small area, to have to queue outside nearly made us go elsewhere. Once in it was clean staff polite and helpful. Perhaps they should make more use of the outside area, even though it was feb it was ok to use the outside, we weren't offered but it would of kept the queues down.
It is in a very good area close to everything.
I would return here but perhaps they could improve the eating area . I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scannyannie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Scannyannie 2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The O'Callaghan Eliott is located in the centre of Gibraltar, with very easy access to all the major tourist and shopping areas. It is a bright, modern establishment, with very friendly and helpful staff, which hosts weddings and conferences as well as "normal" guests.

Our bedroom was clean, a good size, well appointed, well lit, and with a very comfortable bed.

As so often the case, however, the bathroom left room for improvement. The wash-basin was set back in a wide counter, and not being six feet tall I found it difficult to use. The bath had very high sides, again not helpful to shorties, and the shower spray was fixed. So, with the inaccessible basin and fixed spray, the only way to wash your hair was to have a full shower. The shower head itself needed a good clean (although I did my best with a nailbrush) as many of the spray outlets were blocked. I get very irritated that in so many hotels no-one bothers to keep this facility up to scratch. It is such a trivial job, and makes such a difference.

Breakfasts were buffet-style with a reasonable range of produce. Gibraltar as a whole does not seem to embrace the modern love of food (we ate quite badly in restaurants throughout our stay), and so it isn't fair to criticise the slightly narrower range and lower quality than one would expect at an expensive hotel. The view from the dining room was stunning, but the room itself didn't seem big enough as there were sometimes queues and sometimes items ran out and were not replaced immediately.

Overall, a good hotel, but nothing outstanding.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side have beautiful views of the Atlantic and the harbour. The east side giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Barry B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review .

Thank you for your feedback, which we always appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just stayed here for four days as a treat for my wife. Thought I booked the best, the trafalgar suite, however very wrong. After a whole day travelling woke up at 5am with the breakfast restaurant right above us, so much noise. Fair doos though reception moved us and the room was so small, we kept getting locked out of our room and never was cleaned.(new cleaners required) Not good at all.
The bed was thin wooden slatts that made a very loud noise when we moved, again no sleep.
Every morning we had to queue so long to get into the smallest breakfast restaurant ever. I mean this was a joke. Why not open the otherside like you did on valentines night? I know, you not making extra money!
Bacon not cooked, eggs runny, (yuk)
Advertised on website, free wifi! - not true you have to pay, and expensive too. I have taken picture of this as clearly false advertising. You have to use other bars/restaurants better food and free wi-fi!
Will never go back, please think twice before booking here!

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyrleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Tonyrleach,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I do apologise for the less than satisfactory service you received during your stay with us.
I will discuss all of your comment with my team here.
I would like to offer you an upgrade to a suite on your next visit to Gibraltar.
Tonyrleach, I hope you will take us up on this offer and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in mid February
Found the staff very helpful and the room was clean and quiet
The shower was very good and overall was very happy
The hotel is nicely situated just off main street which made it very easy accessible to all the amenities around
Would definitely stay there again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mauricette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mauricette 1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,161 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing