We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location needs some work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location needs some work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here in December, as others have said you have to wait for breakfast with long ques.
The price of the meals in the restaurants was not worth it and we were made to feel as the last people in the restaurant that they were feeding us as quick as possible .

Room would of been ok if it had not been an adjoining room with a paper thin door ,every time neighbours got up at 6.30 to dry their hair we were woken up . I assume they had the same thing when we came in at midnight and watched a bit of TV as we were on holiday...

All in all the location is one of the better ones in Gibraltar however will probally try a different hotel next time we return. Gibraltar on the other hand is a wonderful place and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Steve 1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I do apologise that you had to wait for your breakfast. Thank you for your feedback which we always appreciate. We are doing a refurbishment this year and we will be looking at the bedroom issues.
We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    657
    279
    90
    29
See reviews for
245
685
91
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbys
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early February.
We got a deal from Secret Escapes.
We found the Hotel exceeded our expectations.the room was large with a balcony looking up the rock.
Breakfast was first class.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the 8th floor and the food was top restaurant standard.
I would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear DougDerbys,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

First time in Gibraltar and booked this hotel deal through secret escapes -- ideal location and very comfortable rooms. Restaurant on roof with great views over the rooftops and out to sea, we had a very good and relaxing meal one evening here after spending all day walking the Rock. Room very comfortable and all facilities worked . Staff very helpful with any queries . The main street shops and square are a short stroll away - likewise the Marina where the restaurants are very good but more expensive. I can recommend The Elliot to anyone visiting Gib and we look forward to returning .

Room Tip: 4th floor upwards looking over rooftops out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Alistair S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a second visit very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is well located just under the shadow of the Great rock of Gibraltar. It has a roof top restaurant with a swimming pool with one end looking at the tall standing rock and the other end overlooking the Mediterrenean sea. The spread of breakfast is decent.
The rooms are comfortable and cosy. The bathrooms dont have a bath tub but a spacious shower cubicle. The bar is open until 1.30 in the night.. All in all a very comfortable stay. The staff is very courteous and helpful too.

Room Tip: Most rooms have attached small balcony overlooking the Mediterrenean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aarthikkanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Aarthikkanal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Not only was this the best hotel we'd stayed in in along time, but this was the best holiday we've had in years! We really loved Gibraltar that we thought we'd love to move there in the future. Pity we couldn't live in this hotel!
Perfectly situated, this hotel had all the important amenities with reasonably sized relaxing roof top pool beside the restaurant and great views over looking the sea in one direction and the rock in the other.
Outside the hotel you're in the centre of town with various food outlets and shops galore and further afield, they even have a Morrisons! Fantastic! Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Fortuner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have now stayed in this excellent hotel four or five times. On each occasion we have enjoyed it very much. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent whether in the Verandah Bar or the rooftop Bistro restaurant (which is outstanding). The location is ideal being just a few yards from Main Street and overall is hard to fault. However, there is one big problem which I highlighted in my last review a year or so ago, it is very noisy. Having people running along corridors, shouting and banging doors at 3, 4 and 5 o'clock in the morning is simply not acceptable. For the nights I have been here both on our previous trips and this one a good night's sleep has been almost impossible. This is not condusive to a good holiday and I suspect many people, particularly the older ones, will simply not return. I know it is hard to control unruly guests but this is a problem which needs to be examined urgently. This is a great pity as this hotel has a lot to offer. The only other tiny problem is that the cords on the supplied hairdriers are really not long enough to use confortably. If these two problems were overcome I could not think of a better hotel in which to spend time while in Gibraltar. I

Room Tip: A sea view is always prerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Bill T,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate and I have had discussions with my team here re your comments and our Night Manager is now aware of noisy guests on the floors.
We are doing a refurbishment this year and I think this will cover some of your other comments.
Bill, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great location, short walk to shops, bars and restaurants and only 10 minutes to the Marina.
The hotel is really quite ugly from the outside and could do with a makeover internally. Having said that, the room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. A tiny balcony which was more or less pointless.

However, the walls are paper thin and I hardly slept on the first night due to my noisy neighbour, not that he was doing anything out of the ordinary, they just really need some good sound proofing.

The staff were helpful, polite and efficient.

They have a jazz night on a Thursday night and it was fantastic....highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Balimoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our Jazz evening.
We will be doing a refurbishment this year and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to enjoy it.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 6 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing