We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 sunny days in January”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were here for a family wedding. Our room was on the 4th floor and looking towards the harbour. The room was large, bed very comfortable, shower room was excellent.Breakfast was included in our package of flight, room, transfer but nearby places did breakfast for around £7.00.
The view from the resturant/breakfast room is amazing, with views of Spain, Africa, Gibralter town and harbour.
Staff were very helpful and friendly - the Veranda Bar serves good snacks at reasonable prices.
Spacious hotel with roof pool and gym.
We would come back - the lack of free wifi being the only shortfall.

Room Tip: Tell reception what is important to you and they will try to make it right, unfortunately high spiri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoshedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Twoshedhead,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will include WI-FI in your rate on your next visit to us.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been coming to Gibraltar for some time now and this was my second time at Eliot. There is really nothing to complain about, but there is nothing to be exctatic about eihter. Rooms are OK, food is average (maybe British people will ike it), menu actually somewhat poor. I had some examples of good and some of average service from employees. WiFi was a nuisance, had to restart my device to get reconnected many times. On top of that normal guests need to pay (I was lucky not to). I don't know if there are better hotels on Gib - I stayed once on the Spanish side and it wasn't that much better. All in all, a safe bet, but don't expect anything out of the ordinary - maybe except the view from the breakfast room / restaurant on the 8th floor. Oh, yeah - it is relatively close to main street, but again, everything there is close enough... :)

Room Tip: No idea. Loud heater in my room too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Mr Rommie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate.
We will take a closer look at everything in your review.
We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

this is my third visit to this hotel. in 3 years we book when offers are on nice place. nice helpful staff good breakfasts and clean rooms and handy for shops and local bars. sure we will be back very soon.

Room Tip: we had 3 room's here to date all been good we had so far had a balcony standing room only think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtrucker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Bigtrucker93,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a wedding there, but even on a pre-paid rate it seemed expensive, and breakfast wasn't included, No reduction for single occupancy either. The heating (room 305) was very noisy, the light switch for the bathroom quite a distance from said bathroom, bathroom extractor fan very noisy! And the bathroom itself uncomfortable - the basin too high and with a wide surround so unless you are tall, you soak your middle trying to wash your face. No make-up mirror, so had to kneel on the toilet to do my make-up. Friends staying in a double room had two lights which didn't work.
On the positive side, the staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient, the bed comfortable, and my room had a bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear LizMalaga,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for all your feedback which we really appreciate.
We will take a closer look at everything you have mentioned.
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very clean hotel with fantastic views from restaurant. Good small gym. Hotel room had all facilities plus a kettle for tea and coffee with a tea pot ! Hotel based in a central spot close to shops, restaurants and bar. A twenty minute walk to airport or border. Well worth money .



Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Beverly H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

By far the best location of hotels in Gib. Everything one would expect from this standard of hotel.
Efficient friendly staff good sized clean comfortable rooms with that British touch of tea & coffee making facilities.
My en suite had lg shower but a bath would have been enjoyable to soak in after a day of walking the upper rock, so ask if you plan on this amount of exercise.
Pleasant dining room on roof, enough choice & good quality & price.
Rock view rooms are as good as bay view, floors 4 & above for either.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank SouthWalesGladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear SouthWalesGladys,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do have rooms with a bath, which you can have on your next visit.
Please email us direct and we will make sure you have a room with a bath to relax and have a nice soak!!

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This Hotel is ideal for Business trips as it is in the center of town. It is also great for couples and a short stay with the kids as there is a roof top pool and restaurant which is used for Breakfasts with a lovely view over the Bay of Gibraltar.

Rooms are good in size and were kept very clean. They also have room service if you are wanting a light bite after a long day. There are however many restaurants in a 5/10 minute walk with a wide variety of menus. The reception staff were efficient.

Room Tip: There are Rock view and Bay view rooms, personal preference would be bay view but the Rock view are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascarenhas1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Mascarenhas 1972,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
2,051 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
2,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gibraltar
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 7 in Gibraltar
756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,317 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range: $180 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing