We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short but very sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short but very sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here in early Jan 2014 The hotel was in a handy possition to get to shops and buses for sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and the accommodation was spotless. We loved the variety and quality of the food and drinks which were available throuout the day and late into the evening. We had eaten enough not to need the room service option! We had a very happy stay and would love to return soon.

Room Tip: we overlooked the aircon units and didn't haved a problem with the noise on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Betty S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    745
    330
    118
    35
See reviews for
305
794
100
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I first stayed at this hotel about 23 years ago and have come back again and again - no doubt the management has changed. The rooms are still lovely and clearly constantly updated, the staff are friendly and location is perfect. Love staying here always

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sundancediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sundancediva,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.


With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arriving on 9th January, we were given an upgrade as we'd been before. But we were very surprised when the upgrade was to a suite, along with a complementary bottle of a very good Rioja. The breakfasts were plentiful, with the usual choices. Appreciated having seeded bread instead of the usual whole meal. The staff are very efficient and welcoming. Already looking for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cottingleyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Cottingleyfairy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed here for a long weekend.... I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here. I was pleasantly surprised .... Friendly staff ( Thanks Luke and Alex - bar staff ) also the reception staff, great view at the top restaurant and a very comfortable stay. Ideal central location to shops and nicely furnished, although heard it was to be refurbished but it was quite lovely as it was.... Could do with free wifi as it's quite expensive or reduced prices.. But overall a lovely hotel .... And thanks for the Upgrade

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Msstone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Msstone61,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your lovely comments which I will pass on to the team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had lovely time staying at this hotel over the new year. Hotel is very clean, I found all the staff very helpful, friendly and a pleasure to deal with. The breakfasts I actually got up early enough for always had a lovely selection hot English breakfast including poached eggs or omelette the chef would prepare for you. Also had good choice of fruit and European style breakfast. New Year's Day was very busy so they extended breakfast till 11.30am which was very handy,

I have nothing bad to say about my weeks stay at this hotel and would certainly stay here again if visiting Gibraltar.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Martin S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a very nice stay in this hotel over the New Year Period. I read some of the reviews, and to be fair they didn't reflect my views. I was not expecting the Ritz or the Regency and certainly wasn't surprised when we did not get this. But what we did get was a nice friendly hotel, which was very clean and comfortable and certainly worth the money we paid. We was right amongst the action (Great Location) & I would without any shadow of a doubt, recommend this hotel to a friend.

The only fault that I could find was that our room was right opposite the lifts, so after about 8am, you got quite a lot of BING BONGS with your morning cup of coffee. I guess somebody has to take these rooms, but it really was not a major drama, lets call it more of a wake up call from the folk that went to bed early the night before!! A couple of Port & Brandies, and I was dead to the world anyway!

Room Tip: Try And stay away from the lifts if you are a light sleeper! Our room was 204, although I sleep thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Richie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for one week over Christmas. I found the hotel nicer than the other reviews would have you believe. We had a sea facing room on the 5th floor. Each room is spacious with a good shower and well equipped. There is a safe, tea making facilities, hair dryer, iron etc. There is a small balcony, not big enough to sit out on though.
The breakfast was very good except the sausages which weren't to my liking. Eggs could be cooked to order whichever way you wanted them. We had lunch in the Veranda bar once, it was very nice also and reasonably priced. The drinks, lager and beer were very expensive at £3 a half so we didn't drink in the hotel.
Wifi is extortionate and is on a count down system so if you don't use what you pay for it times itself out. I only used it once and paid £3 for 2 hours. Wifi is available in the other bars and restaurants FOC If you have a meal they will give you the password.
The hotel is ideally located for Main Street where there are lots of bars and shops. It's a short ten minute walk to Ocean Village where the nightlife and casino are.
The weather wasn't too good whilst there but to get around you could buy an adult hopper ticket for the buses for £2.25/day.
I did have an issue with the bedding at the hotel which was dirty (blood spots) but it was changed within ten minutes. I would have thought that when there is no top sheet on the bed, that they would change the duvet cover with each guest but it would seem not. If I went again I would ask for a top sheet just to be sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xcasiox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear xcasiox,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for all your feedback, which we really appreciate.
All feedback helps us provide a better service to our customers.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing