We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caleta Hotel(Gibraltar)
$233
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$93
$90
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hostal La Campana(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$58
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
AC Hotel La Linea(La Linea de la Concepcion)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Con Dios(Gibraltar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Inn(Gibraltar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveler rating
565
824
382
160
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
824
382
160
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantveranda barmain streettop floorjazz nightcentral locationsun terracecable carcentre of townrock viewsmall balconylocation is excellentthe air conditioningreception staffshort breakhotel barbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
1,352 - 1,357 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal site very close to Main Street.. We found the staff friendly and the breakfasts were very good. Our room was very nice and comfortable and kept clean; although the towels were changed too frequently. The only downside was that we were kept awake by very loud snoring from the room next door; but we had taken earplugs. Lack of soundproofing was the only problem we encountered. The menu and food at both the Rooftop Restaurant and the cafe were extremely good. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Christine L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

While checking into The O'Callaghan Elliont Hotel in Gibraltar and upon asking the receptionist if they required our car registration number we were shocked to be informed that the cost of parking the car was £12.00 per day. This came as a horrible bolt out of the blue to us as we had stayed in The Elliot Hotel many times before and never been charged for parking in the past. The fact that we had not been informed by the travel company or the hotel, indicates a lack of communication on somebody's behalf, but a number of patrons were very annoyed by this, as indeed we were. Having started off on that bad footing, there were other things that just seemed to be slacking, particularly the service at breakfact which was very much hit and miss. On our second morning the duty manager saw us to our table, delivered one cup and saucer, forgot to ask if we needed coffee or tea, and quite honestly it was a hastle to get through breakfact that morning, nothing seemed to be flowing properly.

On a positive note, there were two waitresses in the dining room at breakfast (another new for us in this hotel) and they were like a breath of fresh air, so welcoming, helpful and courteous to us. Finally Diana, the receptionist at night, was a real treat, so friendly and helpful, giving us tips way and above her job, where to shop, sights to see, etc, etc and on top of all that she was so interesting and interested in us, a great, great asset to the hotel.

So Elliot a few socks need to be pulled up, there is and will continue to be competition out there and where service becomes slack, past patrons start to look elsewhere and thats a shame, because in a lot of cases it could be avoided.

By the way our room maid was brlliant, and babbled away to us so cheerfully each morning despite the fact we couldn't understand a word she was saying!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarknessLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear DarknessLaois,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I do apologise for the less than satisfactory service you received for breakfast.
I have gone through your feedback with my team here.
I can assure you on your next visit this will not happen.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hi,

We stayed here for the Gibraltar Day Celebrations, on arrival we were told that our room wasn't ready, not a problem as flight arrived at midday, we were able to leave our luggage safely and was told to return in a couple of hours. On returning still unable to check in and receptionist not particularly interested, obviously end of her shift!!.
Breakfast was on the whole ok, except we all wanted to eat at the same time and the Maitre D managed us valiantly with just a few queues.
Our room was immaculate, many thanks to our chambermaid!! Decent air con, however disappointing that the room next door insisted on smoking on the balcony which meant we couldn't have our window open or sit at the table as the smoke drifted in.
Have visited Gib many times but the first time in a hotel, I think we will return to an apartment next year.

Room Tip: Room 604, although opposite the lift, very little noise. Nice views of Rock.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susisue43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Susisue 43,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback, which we really appreciate.
I do apologise for the room next door smoking, we are a non smoking hotel and they should not have been smoking.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The best hotel in Gibraltar, positioned just off Mail Street and a few steps away from the Rock -if you wish to walk it, rather than take a taxi. In October the hotel was quite quiet, as was the entire isthmus. The facilities are perfectly adequate, but this is not a luxury hotel - checkin was slow, the breakfast was fine, but not excellent, the gym was 'mini' and the pool quite small. The rooms however are relatively spacious and are cleaned daily to a high standard. The bar staff are also attentive.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Henry B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for your feedback which we always appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

spent a very enjoyable weekend in gibralter taking a trip down memory lane as i lived there in the early 70's . hotel has been kept up to a good standard and i found the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Margaret K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews