We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“central to everything.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“central to everything.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

myself and partner stay at this hotel for three nites it was fantastic, couldnt of asked for more, your central to everything like shops, little wine bars and restaurants the shops are cheap as chips, the best restaurants are in the ocean village value for money if thats what your looking for!!! we went to the bridge restaurant, laziz which is a indian place, then charlies i recommend the sticky ribs lol..... but over all i do recommend the the o'callaghan elliot hotel, decent people wrking there very helpful

Room Tip: just request one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Glen W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    714
    308
    107
    31
See reviews for
288
749
96
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed on 15th October, the hotel and the room were very clean throughout. Reception staff were very polite and helpful on check in and out. The room was comfortable with all of the necessary facilities although I was a bit disappointed that the tea and coffee in the room were the same as you find in a Travelodge!

Nice touch to find the restaurant on the top floor making the most of the spectacular views.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor or higher with a sea view, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveClev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Dave Clev,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Situated round the back of our own M & S near the top of main street, this comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and great views from the 8th floor breakfast room makes an ideal base. There was terrific live jazz music on Thursday night with lots of musicians turning up to perform creating a great atmosphere. Staff friendly and helpful with a variety of food available, even throughout the night. Pool on roof with solarium and gym. Gibraltar is such a fantastic place to stay with duty free shopping (English currency) and Ocean Village, harbour surrounded by bars and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. You could even walk from the airplane to your accommodation depending on location! Lovely weather too in October. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All spacious with good views as far as I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suepick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Suepick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the Jazz night.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the O'Callaghan Eliott on a four night stay in Gibraltar. We booked it together with a flight on British Airways.

The room was well furnished and comfortable, even if it wasn't the biggest we have ever stayed in. The bed was a comfortable King Size Double and the bathroom was clean and well equipped.

The daily cleaning of the room was efficient and we enjoyed a pleasant view of "The Rock" from our small balcony.

Breakfast (included with our booking) was served as a buffet on the 8th Floor restaurant with lovely views across the bay. The food for the breakfast buffet was excellent with a choice of fruit, cereals, pastries, croissants, and the hot "full English" selection was all well cooked with extra items available on request. The conveyor belt toast machine even managed to toast the bread quite reasonably. And finally we found the staff at breakfast and in the bar to be very attentive and helpful.

If I had one,very minor, criticism it would be that, on arrival, we presented our BA pre-paid hotel voucher and after some stabbing of computer keys and a trip into the back office we were hesitantly informed that we were a little early and our room wouldn't be ready for an hour. That was fine, and it was ready after 2pm as promised. But the manner of the reception staff gave us the impression they couldn't actually find us on the system when we arrived.

Anyway we would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WinchesterTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Winchester Traveller 2,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. It really does set you up for the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Okay, you need a break for a few days, you still have to stay in touch with the modern world though, so you make sure you check the hotel has Wi-Fi access first, and of course pack your Ipad. Off you go!

Nice looking hotel. Nice room, unpack, need to communicate with work, open up the Ipad,
click on the hotels Wi-Fi and here then, here comes the rub! ;

£5 for two hours!!!
Nothing short of a blatant abuse of trust of a hotel resident.

What buffoon in this hotels management chain still thinks Wi-Fi is a lucrative 2004 luxury to be used against their unwary residents? This is not a "facility", this is money making trick by omitting the unusual and unexpected from their advertising.

More important than being 10 years behind modern expectation; who in this hotel management thinks it is clever to hide this extortionate charge until you get there? Who else applies this sort of add on, modus operandi tricks of doing business?

This "Ryan Air" mentality should be stamped on and not allowed to spread to hotels. Is there a connection I wonder?

If this is the charge, why not just be honest and say so? then an alternative more mentally up to date hotel elsewhere can be considered instead? Tricksters like this should be limited to juggling plates on a market stall.

Did I pay it? Did I hell! I walked 30 seconds away where almost every coffee and bar outlet had Wi-Fi unlimited and, free! Did they get my custom? certainly.

Would I go back to be hoodwinked again with undisclosed tricks lick that again? NEVER!
I can stay at home and be had over. Future business with this hotel is lost forever.

I do not expect to be treated at my home away/hotel, like a captive idiot trapped by delays at an airport full of inflated prices.

This hotels owner/manager needs to be educated and/or publish these extortionate charges so that potential visitors have a fully informed choice before booking and arrival.

If you need Wi-Fi, and expect significant facts like this to be openly published before you arrive, Be warned!

David and partner
London England

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was disappointed to read your comments re the WI - FI charges, we do not advertise free WI - FI and I do apologise if you were misinformed.
I would like to offer you an upgrade to one of our suites on your next visit to Gibraltar and I will also include WI- FI.
I look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked this trip as an anniversary surprise for my husband. We lived in Gibraltar in the 80's so this was a trip back to see how much the place had changed. When we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready but the receptionist happily locked our cases away while we went out for lunch and a stroll. We found all the staff we came across friendly and always willing to assist. Our room faced on to the rock on the 6th floor, so we had a great view of the rock. The room was clean and comfortable. The TV has English channels, English plug sockets and good tea, coffee facilities. There is an iron, ironing board and hairdryer in the room. The air conditioning was slightly noisy but not enough to keep us awake.There was some noise from people returning to their rooms in the early hours but again nothing to keep us awake! The view from the roof is excellent, views of the bay and the rock. The breakfast room is quite small but we were seated as soon as we walked in, and the food and choice is very good. The staff again were friendly and very helpful. The swimming pool on the room terrace is very, very cold!
We would definatley stay here again if we were to go back. The location is great, just up from main street and central for everything you might want to visit, ie, the marina, casemates square.
Tip...if you are flying in and out of Gibraltar, we found all duty frees cheaper at the airport than on main street, which is geared around the cruise ships. Enjoy your stay, we did

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sue T,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.
Thank you for your great feedback which we always appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Eliott and our thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our vacation such a pleasant experience. The cheerfulness and helpfulness of the staff is a credit to the hotel and makes such a difference. Our room was kept beautifully clean by our housekeeper Paquita and our special thanks to her and to Miguel and Ala who manage the hotel bar and veranda in such a professional and friendly manner. Also to Costa, a manager who leads by example, sorts things out, and for whom nothing is too much trouble. We were sorry to have missed Karen who was away but the staff on reception were welcoming and helpful from the start. All in all a lovely experience and we were sorry to leave when our vacation came to an end.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilamstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sheilamstott,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and thank you for your lovely comments.
My team here will be delighted to hear that you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing