We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in the centre of Gibraltar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice stay in the centre of Gibraltar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

At first glance the hotel looked a little old and a little run down, but inside it is very nice and the location is perfect as it's right in the centre of town. The rooms are spacious and the restaurant on the 8th floor is fantastic with beautiful views over the Mediterranean sea. The staff were friendly and helpful as well, really enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: There are rooms with a sea view available, and the view across the ocean is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanspacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Seanspacifica,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am gald to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes the views from the Restaurant are fantastic and it is even better in summer.
We look forward to you returning to stay with us soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    743
    329
    117
    34
See reviews for
305
792
100
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

just been to gib for the weekend with my mum, stayed at this lovely hotel again, everything about it is perfect, the room was very well appointed and very smart, the cleaner made our beds every morning and cleaned the room.

The breakfast was lovely and the staff have had some changes so there was a happy atmosphere to the breakfast room to eat the scrumptious food served. this hotel is in the centre of gib and near to all the local ameneties and attractions.

I cannot recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: we stay on the 3rd floor which have a lovely bath and also a great view of the rock from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Gibraltar 2121,

Thank you once again for your lovely review, which we really appreciate.
We really enjoy having you and your Mum stay with us.
We look forward to your 9th stay with us very soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I was only in Gibraltar for one night but the hotel certainly was more than adequate.
The check in was slightly slow but that's probably over critical. The room was excellent with a great shower room and was certainly very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast choice was very good.
Will I stay again when I go back - yes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Rich G 63,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now, the room are clean and comfortable, the breakfast are great, This is the nicest hotel in Gib, its in a great location, the staff are friendly, what more do you want.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnad247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Donnad 247,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and thank you for all your lovely comments.
I will pass them on to my team.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a business trip. The location is great- in the center of town so you don't have to cross the border in the mornings( which takes almost an hour...) . However - the prices are outrageous! The room is big but so out-dated and old. The carpet smells( something fugus-like) - I asked to change the room but they were all smelly... Everything is so old- the mirror is peeling,the hair dryer is from the 80's and this hotel really really needs to revamp . ASAP. Breakfast is minimal and boring... Well... Pass unless you are on a business trip and need the location ....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Lee223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear 223Lee223,

Thank you for taking the time to write yout review.
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you for all your feedback which we always appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Trip to Gib was tarnished by the shabby room decor, shelf in bathroom that fell out of the unit every time you closed the bathroom door, black mold in shower. Our room was smoky and so was the corridor with a neighbor smoking in their room, complained to reception who would get the duty manager to check it out and heard no more about it. The pool was not warm enough to use but I would not have let my family in it as it clearly had not been cleaned in some time with black scum around the pool. We had a meal in the bar on the last night which was dire, really disappointing and soured our trip to Gib. Staff were helpful especially breakfast staff with our young son, location good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Lyon 76,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We have a non - smoking policy throughout the hotel,and I will be doing a further investigation into your comment.
We have a maintenance programme on going with re grouting our bathrooms and I am sorry your bathroom had not been one of the finished ones.
Our swimming pool is not heated and it can be very cold in winter, but it is cleaned every morning. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
511 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Elevator not working , banged up dated room, expensive internet-but its considered the best in Gibraltor??
Management needs to get out a bit more often and see what a four star
However breakfast decent and location is convenient

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Igppres,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Yes we did have one lift not working as we had a problem with the cable, and for guest safety we took it out of service to have it repaired.
I am sorry for the inconvience it may have caused during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again shortly.

With kind regards, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Address: 2 Governors Parade, Gibraltar
Phone Number:
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm welcome awaits you at the Gateway to two continents. The O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel is situated in the heart of Gibraltar's business district and tax free shopping areas. The views are magnificent and offer surprising contrasts that combine the famous Rock, Straits of Gibraltar, North Africa and Southern Spain. Soak up the Mediterranean sun at the Rooftop Pool. The Verandah bar with out door terrace is well know for it's jazz evenings on Thursday night's and live music on Saturday nights. Enjoy a meal in our 8th floor Rooftop Bistro Restaurant, while taking in the magnificent views across the Bay of Gibraltar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Eliott Hotel Gibraltar
o Callaghan Eliott Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing