We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Parilla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Parrilla

La Parrilla
Ranked #70 of 184 Restaurants in Gibraltar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Homemade sauces and carefully selected cuts of meat cooked to your liking on the flaming grill make your dining experience at La Parrilla unforgettable. Situated just of the marina, La Parrilla also offers a great view.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Parilla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went with my family on August 2013. The food was delicious and full of flavour I would recommend the grilled chorizo .My family and I enjoyed the meal would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARIANNE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    21
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A group of 10 of us on a Wednesday, on two other couples sat at another table. We thought the buffet would be easier than everyone asking from the menu. The cost at 10.95 pp was reasonable given the selection that was promised. There was plenty of food brought to the table. The meatballs were processed and were cold. The Chicken al Oporto (chicken in creamy almond sauce) was terrible the sauce had been burnt and the whole thing tasted like an ashtray. The beef was no better, when the plate was passed round I caught a smell of rotten meat, so advised no-one to touch it. The bass was overcooked, but after the fiasco with the beef no-one dared eat anything more. We wondered how the waitress didn't pick up on any of this, I would be embarrassed to bring the food to the table. We loved going there before and now are totally disappointed with the level to which this has dropped. Is there nowhere decent to eat in Gib??

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Had a business diner here- and I was very impressed. There were about 20 in the party, and that did not affect the service. Staff were incredibly attentive and friendly. We were served a selection of food which I presume was pre arranged by our hosts, the highlight being a whole piglet which was just wonderful. Highly recommended for visitors and for an Gib locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't go on a weekend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Having visited this restaurant previously on a quiet midweek evening, the rest of the party and I were looking forward to the 'all you can eat/drink' buffet that the restaurant offers, at a quite hefty £35 a head.

The food offered at the buffet bears no resemblance to the food offered a la carte. We were served plate after plate of reheated beef stews, cheap and tasteless chicken and ribs, and thin strips of over boiled lowest grade 'steak' that seemed more suitable for dog food.

Despite being called 'La Parilla', none of the food was cooked on a Parillla. Instead, plate after plate of slop is handed out from huge pots, that seem more at home in a soup kitchen than a restaurant.

As a local, this is one restaurant that will definitely now be crossed off the list for repeat visits.

A huge disappointment (and the toilets are disgusting).

Helpful?
2 Thank Gib_Minty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Banoffi Pie in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to this restaurant again this month. We where on a day trip to Gib. This has the best Banoffi Pie in the western hemisphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbillclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrilla also viewed

Gibraltar, Europe
Gibraltar, Europe
 
Gibraltar, Europe
 
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to La Parrilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing