We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlies Tavern

Charlies Tavern
Ranked #14 of 186 Restaurants in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

For a restaurant in Gib, I thought the prices were pretty decent. You got alot for your money, although I'd say that the burger I got was a little dry.

The salads were really fresh and crisp, and the ribs were really good. It was busy on a Saturday night but they still managed to squeeze us in. Walked out feeling satisfied. When we visited early evening there were alot of families so bear this in mind if you are after a more romantic experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    139
    38
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant for all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to go to Charlies while in Gib and I'm glad we did! The food was excellent. They even made our young child feel welcome by bringing him crayons and paper to draw on, and they brought his meal in a paper car which he loved! Tgey also do an Indian menu which is also excellent and beats many curries I've had in the UK! The decor is very modern and the service was good. Overall a very good restaurant with lots of choice and a nice setting. We didn't drink alcohol so can't comment on that but they looked to have a good selection anyway. First restaurant to return to when back in Gib!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Charlies is on the marina in Gibraltar. It consists of a tapas bar with darts board and pool table and next door is the main restaurant. In the tapas bar food is served until about 9 and you can have most of what's on the menu in the restaurant. The atmosphere is great and it's very popular. In the main restaurant the food is excellent, very good value for money and a varied menu which includes wonderful curry dishes, some of the best I have tasted. Again there is a great atmosphere and is frequented by locals and tourists. I would definitely recommend a visit .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaci13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

ate here 2 nights, fab selection, plenty of it, service great if you cant eat it all they will bag it for you .we went for a drink in their bar next door prior to eating the drinks are so cheap.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank spikesswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Was surprised how good it was”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I live in Gibraltar, my brother came to visit. He is from Sheffield England so I asked my daughter where I could taken him for a meal, she told me Charlie's restaurant.
I could not believe how good it was, we ordered Indian and it was the best we have ever tasted, staff very friendly and helpful.
And at the end of the evening we were not rushed to make room more customers and the bill not not hurt my pocket.
I give this resteraunt full marks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlies Tavern also viewed

 
Gibraltar, Europe
 
Gibraltar, Europe
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to Charlies Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing