We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service, good food, nice atmosphere”

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 187 Restaurants in Gibraltar
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located at 36.142250,-5.353491
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“excellent service, good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ordered Bombay Aloo and steamed rice without starter, though server/owner brought papadum and relish plate for free, even though they are listed for charge on the menu. The night became very busy, with all tables full and several to go orders, but the level of attentive service was still excellent. It seemed many locals came in and the owner chatted familiarly and warmly with them all. Food is very good but truly the friendliness of the owner is enough to highly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family favourite since as far as I can remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

If authentic Indian cuisine you're after,something which is not terribly easy in Europe, then this the place.

Try out to less well known dishes, and go for something like Chicken Chaat or pumpkin curry.

Reasonably priced, but a word of warning, it's service can be a bit disjointed at times, but always with a genuine smile!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuartmenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst curry ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I don't think i have ever tasted a blander more apalling curry in my life. The Korma was little more than chicken in cocunut sauce. the Pilau rice was just vaguely coloured with no spices. in fact i don't think the three curries we tried had ever seen a spice. Truely uninspiring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teisetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Small place down by the marina, open kitchen which I like. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a very nice lunch here and the catered well for the kids. Food was fresh and tasty. Strange though that a mince naan had cheese in it! Won't have that again. All in a good lunch at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GrapeVine Manor, Monóvar, Alicante - Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The restaurant is situated adjacent to the main shopping street in Gibraltar and is therefore very easy to find. You receive a very warm welcome and very attentive service. The food is excellent and there are all your traditional indian dishes to choose from. The prices are very reasonable compared to most indian restaurants. Just to note that the Maharaja in Queensway Quay in Gibraltar is now closed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Gibraltar, Europe
 
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing