We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent weekend on board”
Review of Con Dios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Con Dios
Ranked #1 of 3 Gibraltar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed with Jill and John. This time we took old friends with us, they had the stateroom and we had the starboard cabin.
All in all excellent three night stay as usual ,Jill and John are great hosts.

Our friends really enjoyed it, we all had great sleeps on board. Everything is within a short walk, ie airport, shops and eateries. Will be using Con Dios again no doubt.
Mike,Pat,Dave and Trish

Room Tip: Stateroom/ensuite is the largest, starboard cabin twin bunks/ensuite, forward cabin twin beds not en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 156 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

to the captain and his wife and lucy thanks again for the four day stay with you really enjoyed it and your hospitality i would come again the location of the boat is brilliant had the best nights sleep for a long while anyway hope to see you again in the near future anyway take care all the best tony in crewe

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant stay, helpful and kind owners, perfect way to start a trip of a lifetime. Cabin perfect in size for one and possibly two if you knew each other well. Top deck perfect spot to sit and watch subset over the rock. Will be back :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenCG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent three night at the Con Dios and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, a little bit like staying in a well appointed caravan in the middle of the harbour, but very romantic and a location that cant be beat. The owners are very friendly and it is a five minute stroll from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeEss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you have never slept on a boat, and when I say boat I don't mean cruise liner, it will be a new experience and one to consider carefully as it might no be for everyone. It is not a floating hotel nor is any small cruser boat really. It has constraints and everything is a bit tight here and there. For myself I have done this many times on various crusiers and yatchts and Con Dios was a great place to be...
Great hosts, pleasant and helpful without being in your face. Not too many rules!
Comfy bed and no trouble sleeping. Simple breakfast of cereals and tea/cofee with milk in a shared fridge. Loads of free information provided and advice if requested
Sun deck is great to watch the world go by or the setting sun, a Marina is a pleasant location especially if you like to dream of owning a super yacht.
The Marina complex has some great restaurants, really good food, we were impressed.
Con Dios has no showers, quite normal for this size of boat really but the free showers on the marina are just a few minutes walk away. The gents have just been refurbished and are really smart. the ladies were a work in progress as we left.
The newly built airport is walkable, about a mile I guess at the most and all on the flat but taxis are easily arranged. There is a Marina car park which was about £4/night. In the summer parking is I understand a real problem so don't bring a car unless you have too.
Gibraltar for us was a walking experience, we never used buses or taxis and Con Dios is a good location to do this. All that said the bus service looks good.
We would definetely come back to both Gibraltar and Con Dios anytime

Room Tip: We had the state room, I believe this is the largest room and the most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the State Room on Con Dios at the beginning of March for 2 nights. Jill and John were the welcoming hosts who were not in the least bit intrusive. There was a generous supply of tea and coffee in the room. The room itself was comfortable and cosy and had inventive storage area. There was no hot water in the room. The showers, which were along the marina, were under refurbishment and men could only go at certain times, and women at other times (timetable on the shower door). This was the only downside for us - it was completely outside the control of our hosts. Still, if we'd wanted luxury, we would have stayed in a hotel not on a boat. As I washed my hair in the sink, using a kettle for hot water, it took me back to the power cuts of the 1970's!
I particularly enjoyed sitting on deck with a glass of Vina Sol watching the sunset and admiring the view of the Rock of Gibraltar. The gentle rocking of the boat gave me my best nights sleep in ages (although I had had only 3 hours sleep the night before due to getting drunk at a gig and then having to get up at 330am to get to Gatwick - so that may have had something to do with it).
Access to the boat is by a narrow gangplank. I thought this might be a challenge after a night out but this posed us no problems. In fact it rather added to the excitement of it all, but would not be suitable for someone with mobility issues.
The marina is, as you would expect, full of bars and restaurants, so you don't have far to go for something to eat or drink. Casemates Square is a short walk, as is the Main shopping street, while the cable car that takes you up the Rock of Gibraltar is a longer - but flat - walk.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The State Room is by far the best room with its own toilet and sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ootytooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the State Room on Con Dios and found the cabin spacious, clean and comfortable. Personal Towels, Tea & Coffee were provided as were cereals and milk for breakfast. However, several things surprised us and future visitors may like to be aware:

• Access to the boat was via a very wobbly gang plank (Passerelle) with nothing secure to hang on to.
• There was no running hot water for washing in our cabin
• Despite “No Smoking” signs, we were frequently aware of tobacco smoke

Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and felt Jill & John made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Con Dios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Con Dios

Address: Marina Bay, PO Box 80, Gibraltar GX11 1AA
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gibraltar
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Con Dios is a Bed & Breakfast boat permanently moored in Marina Bay Gibraltar. It provides a relaxing comfortable stay. Great location to explore Gibraltar and Spain. Reasonable rates. A unique accommodation opportunity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Con Dios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Dios Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing