We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Con Dios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Con Dios
Ranked #1 of 3 Gibraltar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the State Room on Con Dios at the beginning of March for 2 nights. Jill and John were the welcoming hosts who were not in the least bit intrusive. There was a generous supply of tea and coffee in the room. The room itself was comfortable and cosy and had inventive storage area. There was no hot water in the room. The showers, which were along the marina, were under refurbishment and men could only go at certain times, and women at other times (timetable on the shower door). This was the only downside for us - it was completely outside the control of our hosts. Still, if we'd wanted luxury, we would have stayed in a hotel not on a boat. As I washed my hair in the sink, using a kettle for hot water, it took me back to the power cuts of the 1970's!
I particularly enjoyed sitting on deck with a glass of Vina Sol watching the sunset and admiring the view of the Rock of Gibraltar. The gentle rocking of the boat gave me my best nights sleep in ages (although I had had only 3 hours sleep the night before due to getting drunk at a gig and then having to get up at 330am to get to Gatwick - so that may have had something to do with it).
Access to the boat is by a narrow gangplank. I thought this might be a challenge after a night out but this posed us no problems. In fact it rather added to the excitement of it all, but would not be suitable for someone with mobility issues.
The marina is, as you would expect, full of bars and restaurants, so you don't have far to go for something to eat or drink. Casemates Square is a short walk, as is the Main shopping street, while the cable car that takes you up the Rock of Gibraltar is a longer - but flat - walk.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The State Room is by far the best room with its own toilet and sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ootytooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
54
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the State Room on Con Dios and found the cabin spacious, clean and comfortable. Personal Towels, Tea & Coffee were provided as were cereals and milk for breakfast. However, several things surprised us and future visitors may like to be aware:

• Access to the boat was via a very wobbly gang plank (Passerelle) with nothing secure to hang on to.
• There was no running hot water for washing in our cabin
• Despite “No Smoking” signs, we were frequently aware of tobacco smoke

Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and felt Jill & John made us very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The novelty of sleeping on a yacht and its location at Marina Bay were the main points I chose Jill & John's home, the Con Dios, for our 3-night weekend stay (8-11 Feb 2013). We were instantly amazed at the feeling of luxury and adventure, from the size, comfort and coziness of the stateroom and the many amenities offered, such as: free WiFi , the cereal breakfast and shared fridge for any-time breakast, the collection of DVDs, but more importantly, the comfy bed, the view and its seating area from the upper deck and overall, Jill & John's warm welcome and helpfulness. Lucy the cat adopted them in 2007 and stayed, so it must be good!
The Stateroom includes a private toilet (called a "head") and a sink. The only inconvenience was having to use the Marina's (free) showers, a short walk away; but it was not a major one, as it completes the "adventure" part of our stay. At age 60, we're not quite as nimble as in our youth and we much preferred staying on this yacht over staying at yet another hotel/apartment on land; therein lies the novelty. The quietness of the area and the gentle rocking guaranteed a sound slumber away from the hustle and bustle of Gibraltar itself.
Worth a mention: Con Dios is within an easy 15-minute walk from La Linea too.
Go fot it, you won't regret the experience!

Room Tip: Book early to get the stateroom, the only one with a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the State room. It was bigger and nicer than it looked in the pictures on the website (not currently listed on TA, will try to add it but the website is http://www.gibraltarbedandbreakfast.com/condiosco). It was very cozy, small with a low ceiling (you are on a boat) but bigger than rooms in some hotels where we’ve stayed. And the bed was really comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and lots of clever storage spaces to maximize the available room – and free coffee, tea and cereal (if you want a hot breakfast they can make it but there is an extra charge). The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and along with their suggestions, there is also a lot of information about Gibraltar and southern Spain available on board. It’s in a great location – maybe a 10 minute walk from Casemates Square and along a marina with tons of bars, restaurants and shopping around (and a casino is close by). The sun deck has a lovely view of the Rock and the bay. A few notes, all coming from the fact that this is a BOAT and starting out by saying that we would not hesitate to stay here again!: The hallway is a bit narrow, so it could be difficult to maneuver large bags. We found the gentle rocking of the boat relaxing but if you are prone to motion sickness, it could be difficult to manage. The State room is in the back of the boat, and you board the boat from a ramp in the back, so you can hear people walking above and it was a little noisy for us in the morning (though we were waking up to sightsee anyway!). The ramp that you board on is a bit narrow, not unsafe, but make sure you hold the rope. And lastly, the door to our room did not lock from the outside but our hosts did have lockable areas (which we didn’t need to use because we didn’t feel like it was an issue). And it seems like there is always at least someone on board at all times. Again, these did not affect our enjoyment of the place at all – Jill and John really made us feel very welcome and they do an amazing job at making a boat feel like home for 2 land people 

Room Tip: The State room is definitely the biggest of all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

2 nights in starboard room....
Jill & John are very warm and friendly
and their cat Lucy is so cute!

room is clean, well equipped!
and I sleep like a baby in a cradle!
:)

This is totally a new experience for me, bed and breakfast on water!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fendiosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have just spent 4 nights on Con Dios and it is the best B+B I have ever stayed at. Clean, comfortable, cozy, welcoming, relaxing... the list is endless. I had the 'State Room' which is a double room. The room was bright and cheery and I found it very easy to sleep at night. In the morning I chose to take breakfast out on deck and it was great to sit and watch the world go by in Marina Bay/Ocean Village. Although being late November I did have to resort to donning coat and woolly hat due to the morning breeze (though this didn't spoil my 'alfresco' eggs and soldiers!)

Con Dios is within a few minutes walking distance to the centre of town. There is also plenty going on in the marina and surrounding Ocean Village. I must mention Jill and John who are really laid-back, easy-going, friendly and just really brilliant hosts. I'm definitely going back and sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaSueAndBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night weekend to Gibratar & Con Dios, 23rd-26th Nov 2012.

My husband & I had the State Room and it was a lot of fun. Jill & John were great, before our arrival & whilst we were there. We had intended to have Breakfast with them, but always slept late....there are numerous eateries within 3-5 mins walk so no problems.

There's an en-suite to the State Room, marine pump toilet & cold water basin, the hot showers & flush toilets are just along the path (3-5 mins walk) & towels are provided on the boat.

Bring flip-flops for the shower walk, we went back & forth in pj type wear...no probs

It was an unusual experience for us, but glad we did it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyChick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
1.2 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Con Dios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Con Dios

Property: Con Dios
Address: Marina Bay, PO Box 80, Gibraltar GX11 1AA
Location: Gibraltar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gibraltar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Con Dios is a Bed & Breakfast boat permanently moored in Marina Bay Gibraltar. It provides a relaxing comfortable stay. Great location to explore Gibraltar and Spain. Reasonable rates. A unique accommodation opportunity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Con Dios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Dios Hotel Gibraltar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing