We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
96
44
10
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
44
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bars and restaurants inclusive breakfast single cabin comfy sleep shower facilities budget choice helpful owner certain charm ocean village area close to the airport no air con floating hotel a great stay excellent location rooms are small minute stroll bus station
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 161 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Jill and John were brilliant before we even got there, answering all our questions by email so we had no worries by the time we got to Gibraltar. Really quick to find them from the airport and what a surprise to see the marina come into view with all the bobbing boats. Very picturesque.

The Con Dios is easy to find right at the front of the marina and near to a range of lively bars and restaurants but far enough away not to be disturbed too much by the nightlife. The gentle swaying really helps rock you to sleep.

We got nachos from the mexican, a bottle of fizz from the local shop and cuddled up in front of a video of the Usual Suspects in the comfort of our cozy cabin after a full day walking up to the top of the rock all the way to the lighthouse and back to the marina again. It was good to come back to a place which felt just like home. Bliss!

Breatkfast on the front deck next morning in bright sunshine was a delight and it was really good to have that level of personal service you only get from people who live on the boat with you.

The hot and clean showers are just a hop, skip and jump down the quayside (bring flip flops!). Towels provided in your room so you don't need to bring your own.

Jill and John gave us loads of advice about how to get around and what sort of things would be good to see. And if they don't know, the free wireless access available all over the boat really helps. We emailed them from our room to say that we liked their video selection. And they replied instantly!

The other benefit of the location is that it is really close to the Spanish border and we took a day trip to Ronda on the train after strolling across the run way and on through customs.

On Jill and John's recomendation we also did a dolphin safari and it was excellent too. it was really good to have hosts who know their stuff. They even recommended an outfit who could take us rock climbing in Spain the next time we come.

And there certainly will be a next time ...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony_josephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed onboard Con Dios in Oct 10 for a week. Only just getting around to a review because dont want too many of you to hear how good it is!! Fantastic service from Jill and John answering all the little questions prior to arrival. Recommend state room for added space if staying for a few days. Very comfortable double bed and plenty of storage. En-suite facilities spacious and very clean. Windows all around to see what is going on in the harbour. Hot showers at any time of day a few meters away on the quayside.
Huge gin palaces and ocean going yachts are moored next door but Con Dios has a certain charm about it. Having lived in Gib for a while in 2000/01 it was a great base to revisit old haunts. Large choice of restaurants and bars a stones throw away.
A great adventure, this place is different, and we recommend it to anyone
wanting to be at the heart of the action but not having far to go for a good nights sleep. A no frills accommodation at a good price and excellent service. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I travelled to Gibraltar on my own for a week, and it was so lovely staying on the Con Dios! Before I'd even gotten there, Jill and john the owners upgraded me to a bigger room, as i was alone and the boat wasn't fully booked that week. They are moored in a beautiful harbour, right opposite the restaurants, shops and casinos. The top of the boat is perfect for sunning, and they often pull out the loungers for you to soak up the sunshine! You can request a homecooked ( or boatcooked!) breakfast on the Con Dios, and Jill will set it up for you on board the deck, where you can sit and watch the morning go by. The location is truly amazing, very central, right near the airport, and the owners of the Con Dios could not be more lovely. I was in Gibraltar when the volcanic ash struck, and even though i hadn't been booked in another week, they made sure I was A-okay, and they were asking around for ways to get me back to Liverpool in one piece. Due to the unexpected week, Jill even did all my washing, and because it was a very unexpected turn of events, they insisted that I pay them only once i get home, to make it easier on myself.
You couldnt ask for a better place to stay than the Con Dios. It's lively, homely, and they honestly treat you like family. You will meet so many people staying in this little harbour, and once you've met people once, they often come by to say hello. Gibraltar is one of the friendliest places i have ever travelled to, and i can't wait to go back and stay again. It's an authentic experience that you won't forget. The main room on the Con Dios is perfectly sized with an en-suite, and the smaller rooms on the boat are comfortable too. Highly highly recommended!! xx

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charne_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibafloat, Owner at Con Dios, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews