We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jumpers Wheel Restaurant
Ranked #109 of 195 Restaurants in Gibraltar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.gibyellow.gi/company_results.asp?Company=restaurant&Submit3=Go
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

A great locals restaurant with fantastic seafood. Would probably have walked past if had not been taken there by relatives. Went back every night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Basic experience, superb fish and atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Utterly basic place (just two enormous bare rooms) built into a segment of the city ramparts along Rosia Road. On a Friday and Saturday evening it goes from silent to tumultuous between 7pm and midnight. It's essentially Spanish run and staffed. Tragically the Gibraltarians don't like serving or service, only using it whereas the Spanish excel at both cooking and serving. The fresh fried fish is stupendous. The atmosphere is frenetic, the waiters are excellent. The food just comes in waves. Generally we'd give this a 4 rating but there are so few special places in Gib that it deserves a 5!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited Jumpers Wheel one evening having read good reviews on Trip Advisor and ate there again during our stay as we really enjoyed it. Seating is outside, set just back from the road with a great view of the rock and the evening sun; or inside which was busier and lively when we visited. Although a bit out of town, it was a pleasant stroll back to Casemates, or else there is a bus stop pretty much opposite.

Contrary to other reviews, the waiters do speak some English, more than enough to get by when combined with my limited Spanish, and we were made to feel very welcome.

Most of the dishes were full or half raciones. We had grilled king prawns, rosada, anchovies in lemon and side orders of chips, salad, olives and grilled vegetables. Dishes were served as they were cooked which meant some of the side orders had gone cold by the time the rest of the fish arrived, but it was all excellent, generous portions and very reasonably priced. The dry white wine was lovely too, at £2 a glass.

On our second visit on Saturday evening, I'm not sure that much notice had been taken of our telephone reservation, but we were seated anyway, with a local wedding party on one side and a family birthday party on the other. Service was understandably a bit slower, but we enjoyed the atmosphere.

We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best value fish restaurant in Gibraltar”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This restaurant is one of the few in Gibraltar were fresh fish is served daily.From the ling to the John Dory you know 100% you are getting the real thing.There is no PANGA/BASA cheap fish here.
The prices for 4 is £40-£50 plate of fried squid(to die for)plate of ling,plate of peppered mini steaks,plate of clams,plate of octopus with lemon,bread drinks and olives cost me £42 last sunday.
Highly recommended in Gibraltar by many locals this restaurant has been in Gib for over 15 yrs with current staff that are efficient and very polite in every way trying to help.

Go you will not regret your visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlennRGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A very popular restaurant with a fantastic atmosphere during Friday and Saturday nights. Food is great, service is good and the prices are very good indeed. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumpers Wheel Restaurant also viewed

Gibraltar, Europe
Gibraltar, Europe
 
Gibraltar, Europe
 
Gibraltar, Europe
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to Jumpers Wheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing