We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salads more than just green leaves”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Solo

Cafe Solo
Ranked #30 of 186 Restaurants in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Solo is an Italian restaurant located in the Grand Casemates Square. Food on service includes a mix of salads, pasta dishes and pizzas. The restaurant accommodates for busy business lunches and relaxed evening dinners with a cosy interior located within the old bombproof barracks which provides Casemates' only non- smoking environment. There is also an outside terrace for those who wish to soak up the sun whilst dining.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Salads more than just green leaves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a lunch here with 3 friends, easy to find right in the square. Be careful though there is another restaurant with the same name near Eurotower (?) that one of the party went to and was redirected. Not cheap but the service was friendly and meals arrived quickly, The pasta was excellent but the star for me was the salad after being served Spanish salads with nothing more than lettuce and tomato it came as a great relief to see colours and substance.
Recommended that you grab a site in the shade as was v hot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    75
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not up to the mark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

went here for meal this evening and ordered a pint of beer and a glass of wine then 2 x lamb tagging. the wine was small but cost £4, the beer was 33cl (20% foam) and cost £2.50. The food arrived quickly but at £17 each was not great .... A lamb shank (lump of old mutton) which, having been slow cooked in a tagine, failed entirely to fall off the bone, a small amount of lumpy mash and overlooked sliced carrot underneath and a lukewarm to cold tomato sauce over the top. So, £40 spent and both still hungry and very disappointed.
would suggest going to the other restaurants in the square or to the casino for much better value or, if you want to spend the same but get far better quality ... Go to guaucho's

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naewukinfurries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoloRestaurants, Owner at Cafe Solo, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Buzz & Hayley,

I was most surprised to read your review of our restaurant after your visit on Wednesday evening. After a meeting with my Head Chef and restaurant supervisor who were present on said evening, they assure me that no comments or complaints were made with regards to quality of food or service on this particular evening.

Our restaurant supervisor remembers clearing your plates of which only the bone from the lamb shank was left and no comments passed at this opportune moment.

With regards to pricing, our small glasses of wine to which you refer are in fact a quarter of a bottle in volume and £2.50 for the beer is fairly standard throughout restaurants in Gibraltar.

I believe that the lamb shoulder in Gauchos (a quality restaurant nonetheless) is in excess of £20, which hardly makes our Lamb Tagine a very expensive dish.

Of course what you have failed to mention Buzz & Hayley, is that you paid for all of this with a generous £30 voucher (for which most other establishments only offer £10) won via BFBS Radio which I have been supporting for over a decade.

Sorry we did not manage to satisfy your requirements on this occasion but I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future to prove ourselves as a quality restaurant that offers value for money, as so many other patrons experience on a daily basis.

Kind regards,
Alistair Locke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our flight to The UK was delayed so we wondered up to the square in search of some lunch. This place stood out amonst the rest because it looked so clean and inviting! The Gazpacho was excellent and tasted so fresh. All our main courses were large,tasty and well presented. The menu choice was very good. Staff were lovely and friendly and service was excellent. We were very impressed and were sorry to go back to the airport for our flight!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was visiting the rock back in April and my parents arranged lunch for a group of 6 of us. We all had starters and mains, including the pâté (this was a huge portion and fabulous) and pork risotto. The salads are large and generous with their toppings, very enjoyable!!! The staff were friendly and we even got approached by the owner, what a lovely lady :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leatherhead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Large group of us went to this restaurant for a meal and we were very pleased. Lovely location at the Casemates square, very efficient service and lovely food. Their Caesar salad and Antipasti platter are top notch!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Solo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing