We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Solo

Cafe Solo
Ranked #30 of 185 Restaurants in Gibraltar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Solo is an Italian restaurant located in the Grand Casemates Square. Food on service includes a mix of salads, pasta dishes and pizzas. The restaurant accommodates for busy business lunches and relaxed evening dinners with a cosy interior located within the old bombproof barracks which provides Casemates' only non- smoking environment. There is also an outside terrace for those who wish to soak up the sun whilst dining.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is the best its located at the center of casemates they offer good fish meat and pasta as well as good coffee. This is the place where Ms. Teo Evangelista love to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    73
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Only had drinks, but great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped with a friend for a long overdue catch up over a few glasses of wine.
Max was welcoming and helpful, advising us on our wine & being his usual charming self.
All in all a lovely evening. My only cause for complaint? We didn't get around to ordering dinner! Silly us!

Love Café Solo; consistently good over the years. We'll be back to eat soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We tried the seafood tagliatelli and a pizza, both of which were cooked perfectly with some fantastic flavours. The restaurant itself is nice, and there are plenty of tables if you want to sit outside. The staff are also all very friendly and polite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraExplorer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food & Attentive Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Last night was a Bank Holiday in Gibraltar but all the restaurants opened as normal. We went to Cafe Solo and can highly recommend it to anyone visiting Gibraltar. We dined at about 18:45 so perhaps a bit before any rush for the evening but there were still several families dining outside there when we arrived. We chose to sit inside and apart from one other couple were the only ones inside. Glad we did too as we had lovely soft music to accompany our meal. We chose Gambas Pil Pil for starters then both had the grilled swordfish with potatas bravas, rocket salad and a black olive tapenade dressing. It was all cooked to perfection and the portions were of a good size. Our meal was finished off with coconut ice cream which ranks as the best I have ever tasted! It was good value too with a 3-course meal for 2 people costing £50 including a tip! They have a good a la carte menu with a wide selection of dishes that is supplemented by a daily blackboard of specials with3-4 starters and a similar number of mains in addition to the a la carte menu. Our recommendation is to dine early & sit inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChallengerSRT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

we stoped at this resturant for lunch in our day trip to gibraltar.
they have nice in square outdoor sitting aerea , and a beutiful inside bar.
the service was professional an very quick.
the menu is wide , we did order the shef's offer of the day, it was risotto with spinach and parmiggiano. it was tasty.
over all nice resturant good kitchen and professional service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bahouth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Solo also viewed

 
Gibraltar, Europe
 

Been to Cafe Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing