We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice when in Bouzas”
Review of La Carpinteria

La Carpinteria
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 6/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #27 of 1,001 Restaurants in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 25, 2018

The menu is diverse and good. Very well cooked with good materials. Great place to go with friends and enjoy a great variety of food.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank germanloperena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Our hotel sent us & we almost gave up hope of finding. So glad we didn't! Our waiter was very patient as we figured out menu translation into English. Food was fantastic. Space is an old carpenter shop, small, clean, bright & modern looking. Food didn't disappoint from salad, entree to dessert. I'd come here every time I was in town. Make a reservation as it's popular with the locals.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank kimr256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

La Carpinteria was quite near where we were staying, in a trendy enclave of the Bouzas district on the outskirts of Vigo. It's worth making the effort to get out to this oustanding 'gastropub'. This is inventive fine dining at a reasonable price - easily the best food we had in Galicia (we ate there twice). The staff don't speak much English, which is possibly why they have an English version of their menu. Beware, however, as some of the 'translations' have gone wrong along the way. We didn't try the 'Owl with mollusk rreduction' (in the 'From the Sea' section), but I'd bet it wouldn't be owl. I ordered Pork belly and Octopus and it turned out to be monkfish (very good by the way). Stick to the Spanish menu. If there are 19 better restaurants than this in Vigo, I'd actually eat the owl.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

My daughter booked a table at La Capinteria for our visit to Vigo and whole experience was outstanding from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The decor in the restaurant was tastefully done to the theme of an old carpenters yard, which I'm guessing it was from the name. For our meal we shared to starters which set the tone for a great meal, this was following by three fantastic main courses, washed down with a lovely bottle of local wine. To finish we shared a couple of very tasty deserts accompanied by a lovely coffee liquier. This meal was our most expensive during our visit to Vigo but it was still fantastic value for money, which we would have paid an awful lot more for in the U.K. I must not forget to mention the waiting staff who also added to making our evening so enjoyable.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gogs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Not in the centre of viog bu near the marina and in the Bouzas are I think. We tried to eat in here for two nights, however they were closed on the first occasion, thankfully we went back the next night and had a wonderful meal. The restaurant is quite small and the building has been restored in a very sympathetic manner, with carpentry tools hanginf from one of the walls . The kitchen is quite small and from part of the restaurant you can see the chef at work . The food we had was excellent, the wine was looocal and the staff were very attentive but not overly so. No problem in recommending to anyone in Vigo on holiday or working

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickcee1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carpinteria also viewed

Vigo, Province of Pontevedra
Vigo, Province of Pontevedra
 
Vigo, Province of Pontevedra
Vigo, Province of Pontevedra
 
Vigo, Province of Pontevedra
Vigo, Province of Pontevedra
 

Been to La Carpinteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing