We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal maritime location near the marina and not far from fish docks and seafood restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Vigo is changing...for the better! Roads are a bit under construction just now but it's still a city worth visiting and if you're into boats and seafood try the AC Palacio. It has an old facade but the rooms are clean and very modern. The service is great and the sea is just metres away!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

The personel at the Reception was very friendly and the gentlemen who took the kindness of parking and fetching our car were very helpful, as well as with the consignment of our luggage after check-out.
The rooms were very good, neat and cosy and noise isolation of the windows was perfect. So was the kind of lightening used in the rooms.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdviser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Great location in front of the harbour. Rooms are modern and very comfortable. Make sure you eat all the seafood you can while in Vigo.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyledouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The room isn't big, but as always in this group, is beautifully decorated and is big enough for a city hotel . The Sala AC cames handy when we return from a late walking.
The location allows to reach almost all the city on foot and it's great if we want to have dinner late.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nephilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I staid for 3 days and everything was fine, excelent quality of service and beautiful hotel. I recommend to all people to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

stayed here for 4 nights in late august, easy to locate with our map but not by following the signposts in the town which didnt make any sense - no hotel car park but you can pull onto the front to load or unload, then go over the road to the "robotic" car park - take your time as this takes some working out, you take a ticket, listen carefully for which number bay to enter (you may need to brush up your spanish as hardly anyone here speaks english) then drive into the bay, lock your car and leave, before the car is whizzed up to the main car park area. On return, you pay then get a bay number again to go and wait for your car. On the whole parking was cheap all over vigo but certainly not plentiful. Hotel itself is in a beautiful old facade of a building, yet completely modernised inside,
lovely reception, bar area with a restaurant - only used it for breakfast which was fine 13 euros each for a cooked breakfast. Our room 101 was a superior, very large size for the price 96 euros a night, with a separate walk in wardrobe, good size bathroom with huge bath and plenty of extras like slippers/bathrobes/toiletries and a great hairdryer. Very clean, and ultra modern in style only faults were the main room was a little dark. Lovely comfortable beds with gorgeous fresh white linen and comfy pillows, decent large window and balcony overlooking the side street, noisy but nice for a bit of fresh air. No complaints really at all, staff were very helpful and pleasant although a couple didnt speak a word of english so be prepared, we managed to get what we wanted with our limited language skills. Would stay at this chain again, very good value for money oh yes I forgot - free in room mini bar for soft drinks! handy for that bottle of water in the middle of the night - highly recommend if you dont want a traditional classic style of hotel, this is upmarket. stylish and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

A lovely newly converted building right on the seafront in Vigo. Its very modern interior styling might seem at odds with an older property but it works brilliantly. our room was very well equipped with a view out to sea - though the port sits inbetween. The location is great for boat trip and the best seafood restaurants are just a the back of the hotel. Excellent value at 80 euros. Our only gripe was the AWFUL car park opposite which we were directed to. It is "robotic" which means you drive your car into a glass box and it is sucked into the bowels of the earth... dont leave your luggage inside (or your children!). Instructions are only in spanish and the attendents speak no english. The hotel give you a pass to use but in our experience this only confuses matters and is no cheaper. Be warned.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel America Vigo
Hotel America Vigo
#6 of 44 in Vigo
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#5 of 44 in Vigo
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#7 of 44 in Vigo
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Mar de Vigo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palacio Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palacio Universal

Address: Rua Canovas del Castillo 28, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vigo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vigo
Price Range: $67 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Palacio Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AC Hotel Palacio Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Universal Vigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing