We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further in Vigo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Look no further in Vigo”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Can not say enough nice things about the hotel. The owners were very friendly and very attentive. They made us feel like we were one of their good friends coming to visit them. The rooms are also very nice, and have large bathrooms! Another thing I really appreciated was that I could eat breakfast really whenever I wanted, and they would whip up what ever I fancied that morning. If I return to Vigo, I won't bother looking to stay anywhere else! This is the perfect hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    31
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
127
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esposende, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Beautifull hotel ,located in the old city of Vigo right by the bars,restaurants,and shopping .
It's a family run hotel what meen al prodact they use are bio and organic great sea food fresh fish and excellent wine.the rooms are clean, large and comfortable defently stay and repeat :))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyvanilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have been staying between 2011 and 2013 six times in the Puerta Gamboa. I have to say that I enjoyed every single stay. The hotel is family run and they treat you like a family member and will go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. I would strongly suggest that you stay for dinner in the hotel and go for any of their fish dishes. You will need to ask as there is no menu but the food is amazing. Otherwise I got nothing to add to all the previous reviews - it's the place to stay in Vigo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted with the best customer service of our three week tour of Spain. The room was large, beautifully furnished with a modern bathroom and immaculately clean. Everything previous reviewers have said about the owners being attentive, helpful and genuinely caring about you enjoying your stay are true. Staying at this hotel will create a memorable and positive visit to Vigo.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

From arrival to departure the owners go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay
The hotel has been modernised with good taste and a lot of thought.
I wish I had read the reviews more closely before our stay as it was not until we got home that we realised that the hotel cafeteria did food other than breakfast and light snacks.We did not see anything to tell us that there was food available in the evenings.We were staying 3 nights and would certainly have tried it once.
We did have an excellent bottle of wine late one evening although there was no list.
There is a thriving pub next door and so some noise as people spill into the street,but not too much.
This hotel is as good as it is because it is run hands on by the owners and we would certainly return

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nevesTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Perfect location in the city, easy walk to great restaurants and site seeing.
The rooms are a bit small by US standards but the quality is excellent, but what truly sets this apart is the family that runs it. Father and Son are the face of the hotel, doing everything possible to ensure you're happy and going above and beyond without a second thought!
The Mother cooks in the restaurant and is excellent, they will ask what you are in the mood for, give you choices and then make the meal to suit your taste, we were never disappointed.
I picked the hotel based on the ratings and they need are truly earned, I'd welcome the entire family into my home if they ever made it to the States!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had less than 24 hours in Vigo, and found this property on tripadvisor. The reviews are correct--the service, staff, quality and value is all excellent. The stone walls, iron work, cleanliness and charm of the building is apparent. The family owned nature of the property shows through, and the breakfast was very good, and the coffee they brewed was superb. The hotel comfort was very good as well, and we slept quietly in spite of being in the city center and quite close to many pubs, restaurants and hotels. Easy walking distance to all that you would care to see in the Vigo city center. We traveled with guests and while our friends had a very large bathroom, ours was a small and the shower in particular was a bit like a phone booth. However, all things considered, this was an excellent property and I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our car navigation system could not properly locate the hotel. We finally had to stop and ask a poli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel America Vigo
Hotel America Vigo
#7 of 44 in Vigo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
1.8 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#6 of 44 in Vigo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Gamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Property: Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Address: Rua Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in an old and impressive granite building, in a privileged position in the area of the port of Vigo. Gamboa Hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring on foot the center of Vigo, which is located in the heart of the city.All rooms are exterior, enjoy plenty of natural light and feature a balcony. To end the day, can come to relax and drink in the hotel cafeteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Puerta Gamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing