We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
London. UK.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a place.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is so good that it is the sort of place you would want to keep to yourself. That simply wouldn't be fair to the family who run this small hotel in the centre of the old town though. They run it to perfection. From the moment you arrive, there is nothing that seems to be too much trouble for them. From parking the car to dinner cooked by Madame with the freshest of fish and shellfish from the market, to arranging a trip out to the Islands, all is taken care of politely and in a friendly manner. The room was immaculate, quiet and of a good size with a sofa to sit on as well as beds and with part of the walls being the old stone walls of the original building.

I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. If you are going to VIgo, this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainCLondon_UK_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
126
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We decided on Puerta Gamboa after reading all the good reviews on TA, and it was accurate. The hotel is on the old historic town but also very close to Plaza de Compostela which has nice gardens and restaurants along the street.
The old building was restored and all the rooms renovated. The room is not big but nice and cozy with a balcony facing the street. The bathroom has a contrast between the old stone wall and modern fixtures.
Breakfast is simple but good. They offered toasted bread, croissant, butter, jam, fresh orange juice and coffee but you can ask for eggs if you want.
We ate at the restaurant twice and had a good experience. Fresh fish and sea food prepared mainly a la plancha. They also have good albariño wine, the local wine. Since they don't have a menu, you don't know exactly how much you're paying for the food. Although it was very good we found it a bit pricey.
Fernando and his father are very nice and give you all the info you need about the city and surrounds.
I would definitely stay at Puerta Gamboa if we go back to Vigo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldismyhomeblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

To quote Bob Dylan, don't think twice... This hotel is in an ideal location, the rooms are stunning and I think all have their own private terrace, and the service is probably the best I have experienced in my travels anywhere. When the owner offers to take you to the airport on a Sunday morning at 5:30 am there is not much more to say.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were in Vigo for a couple of days and my brother stayed here and we stayed at the Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa, nearby. This is a lovely small, stylish family-run hotel in the beautiful old part of the city and perfect for enjoying all the wonderful bars and cafes nearby. My brother's room was very comfortable and characterful and we will be staying here when we return to Vigo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Town centre hotel small but very comfortable. Fernando the manager was always there and could not do enough to assist including sorting out our car parking charges. Challenging to find by road but F. helped us there as well.Breakfast was whatever you wanted seemingly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyDado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My friend and I were in Spain hiking the Camino de Santiago, we were used to being in the countryside, where everything was mellow, then we had to leave from Vigo to return to the US....A big city! Where to park! Directions in and out and around! Quite a difference....well, along comes Fernando and his wonderful family at the Hotel Puerta Gamboa....Parking is difficult in the city, so he went and retrieved our car from the wrong parking garage, reparked it, then spent a fair amount of time trying to print out our many boarding passes for the airlines, and he was quite knowledgeable and we could NOT have done it without his help! This is a family run hotel, he and his parents are super friendly, they speak several languages between them. Not to mention that the hotel itself is charming and classy and a good value as well. I cannot recommend this hotel and these kind people enough. On a scale of 1 to 10, it was a 20. Hope to return someday, I would go out of my way to go there. Thank you so much!!! Marsha and Teresa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Super clean, super friendly, super location. Have not been to other hotels in Vigo but nevertheless I know it must be hard to overcome this excellent charming hotel. Breakfast adjusted to individual preferences and available until 11:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel America Vigo
Hotel America Vigo
#7 of 44 in Vigo
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
1.8 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#6 of 44 in Vigo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Gamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Property: Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Address: Rua Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in an old and impressive granite building, in a privileged position in the area of the port of Vigo. Gamboa Hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring on foot the center of Vigo, which is located in the heart of the city.All rooms are exterior, enjoy plenty of natural light and feature a balcony. To end the day, can come to relax and drink in the hotel cafeteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Puerta Gamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing