We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay from start to end” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay from start to end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights from 29th of June to 2nd of July.

Very warm welcome! Clerk (and son of the owners couple) was very kind and smart. He helped us with the luggage and scouted us into the nearby parking garage (Hotel is providing a parking ticket!

Rooms are clean, the desgin is modern, with style and intelligence, bathrooms are spacios. Feels like a 5* Hotel! We were staying on the 3rd floor, with a great balcony.
Supermarket and pubs, incredibly fine seafood dining in the close vincinity.

The clerk helped my by renting a boat for a day trip to the island of cies, I literally had to do nothing but send over my license and walk to the marina next day. He and his parents did everything to comfort us. This was true service.

I can highly recommend this place, it is well located, has very nice accomodation and the staff is friendly, smart and efficient!

One thing: There is a pub next door, people are standing outside and talking, smoking and so on until late night. This was not a disturbance to me, but maybe you have to close the windows/balcony doors if you have a sensible sleep (It was the european soccer championship, so maybe this was the reason)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parry_Hotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
125
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

To whom it may concern,
What can i say about the hotel Puerta Gamboa,that was my first time in spain vigo and i went to stay in the hotel gamboa on the 2/3/12 and i stayed there to the end off June,

Iv'e never felt so welcome in my life from the staff and the owner,jose Mauel his wife and son fernando they are the nices friendly people ive came across,and ive stayed in many hotels though out my working carrer travelling around the world,

Apart from that this,the hotel is very clean the rooms and spotless,and the food is amazing,as they cook every thing from fresh,excellent breakfast as well

And it is also handy as it is only short walk to centre of vigo shpping centre,bars and restaurants,if i ever consider going back to vigo this would be the place for me to bring my wife and family,i would recommend it to anyone,who be going to vigo in the near future you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is in the old part of town, close to many small restaurants, bars etc. it's also a short walk to the harbour. The owners of this hotel are particularly friendlyand go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are fairly small but very nicely equipped with good bathrooms, the hotel was recently refurbished / converted, there has been a sympathetic restoration of the building.
There is a little bit of noise outside if you leave the balcony door open but once closed I had no problem sleeping. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Hotel service does not get better then this! This hotel is very modern set in a great location in Vigo. It is a family run hotel and they instantly make you feel like a part of their family. They cook everything fresh and served in the ground floor dining area. The food was better than most top notch restaurants. Every meal was excellents and they even shared their recipee with me!
The entire family will go out there way to make you Spain/ Vigo experience one you will never forget. I was truly sad to leave this place at the end of my trip. I can't wait to go back.

Wonderful

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent two nights in this cosy hotel. The rooms are small but have all needed facilities. The bathroom is very modern.

The service was excellent. The hosts José Manuel with his wife and his son Fernando were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast and the dishes they served (fish, jamón and cheese) were delicious.

Fully recommendable!

Sandra & Arne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my brothers birthday -there was 6 of us -3 bedrooms
From the moment we checked in , we couldnt have had better service. What was nice was that we were put on the first floor -and we had our own little corridor for the 3 rooms. My brother got the room with the balcony which overlooked the street

The breakfast was very filling and it was nice to have a bar that we could go to for a predinner drink before we ventured out into Vigo.

They do provide car parking for a small charge and the man on reception kindly drove with us to show us where it was-it is a minute away from the hotel. The staff spoke great english.

The hotel really is in a great location for the port and old town Vigo. The building is really beautiful and small. When we next go back to Vigo we will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgangeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

A seven week business stay at the Hotel Puerta Gamboa was an absolute delight. The service and family atmosphere at this small but friendly hotel are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. The food, freshly cooked, was wonderful - all introduced by Fernanado the 'Talking Menu'.
All in all a wonderful experience. If you are visiting Vigo this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel America Vigo
Hotel America Vigo
#10 of 44 in Vigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#7 of 44 in Vigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Gamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Property: Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Address: Rua Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in an old and impressive granite building, in a privileged position in the area of the port of Vigo. Gamboa Hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring on foot the center of Vigo, which is located in the heart of the city.All rooms are exterior, enjoy plenty of natural light and feature a balcony. To end the day, can come to relax and drink in the hotel cafeteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Puerta Gamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing