We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel with exceptional staff”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the reviews here after going to a number of other hotel north of Vigo. Although not easy to fine due to street construction going on, we were not disappointed. The family who own this hotel owners went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are tastefully designed and everything works well. Of course its in the middle of the old city so you don't have great views or exceptionally quiet rooms, but the convenient location and secure feeling more than make up for this. We were treated to an exceptional meal cooked by the mother and had very personalized service from both the father and son. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Vigo, which, by the way was a very interesting town with lots to do with some very beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    31
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
128
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We felt so very taken care of! But we didn't sleep very good. There was construction work from early in the morning outside and lots of traffic..eventhough the windows are soundproof it still don't help. The walls between the rooms are like thin papers. We could hear our nighbour snore.

Room Tip: Avoid staying above the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night as our departure back to the US was Vigo/Paris/Mpls. This was a great hotel for our last night in Spain. Father/Son ownership who run a top notch place in the center of the old town.

They were very helpful with locating wine shops, internet cafes, dining, etc. Most importantly, excellent directions to the airport the next morning.

If the future brings us back to Vigo. we would deifinitely stay here. Unfortunately, Vigo itself is not much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tands55082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I loved everything about my stay at Hotel Puerta Gamboa when I was in Vigo visiting my son Located in the old city, the newly renovated hotel of 11 rooms has a homey feeling with upscale amenities. The owners were delightful and helpful with every detail. The son, whose English is very good, made some wonderful recommendations regarding sightseeing and shopping. I would not have found a lovely Spanish ceramics store wtihout his suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Way beyond our expectations. The hotel was recently redone and boy was it nice. The rooms were wonderful, the bathrooms were beautiful! The owner Jose Manuel and his son could not have been any nicer. They bend over backwards to help you. We were lost and Jose Manuel sent his son outside to look for us. Breakfast was simple but great tasting. We can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Ga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I took the train from Madrid to Vigo in August 2010. My wife called Jose Manuel Teijeira the owner from the train station. He immediately came to the station to pick us up. After arriving at the hotel we were greeted by his son and wonderful wife Berta. They are so hospitable and made us feel like family. We stayed for 3 wonderful days in Vigo at the Puerta Gamboa. This family is tremendous and made us fel right at home. Mr Teijeira also volunteered to take us up to Castro Park in his own vehicle which was so gracious of him. After we checked out he returned us to the train station and assisted us in getting a rental car for our continuing journey to Asturias. That evening Mr Teijeira called us on his cell phone to check to see if we were OK and needed anything. We have travelled extensively and I have never encountered such wonderful people as the Teijeira. I high recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vigo. We hope to return again this coming Spring for another visit with this wonderful family. The hotel itself is excellent and the service is above reproach and in all aspects exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Fabulous famaly hotel, most welcoming and worm.
The hotel has been renovated 2 years ago, and looks like band new
Food was very good, and they made you feel at home.
Rooms are not very big, but modern clean, and equipt.
Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigo hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel America Vigo
Hotel America Vigo
#8 of 44 in Vigo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio Universal
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zenit Vigo
Hotel Zenit Vigo
#9 of 44 in Vigo
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Gamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Gamboa

Property: Hotel Puerta Gamboa
Address: Rua Gamboa 12 | Pontevedra, 36202 Vigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Vigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta Gamboa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in an old and impressive granite building, in a privileged position in the area of the port of Vigo. Gamboa Hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring on foot the center of Vigo, which is located in the heart of the city.All rooms are exterior, enjoy plenty of natural light and feature a balcony. To end the day, can come to relax and drink in the hotel cafeteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Puerta Gamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing