We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Herradura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Planned on staying 1 night with the intent of trying other hotels in Santiago. We had such a wonderful experience though that we quickly booked our remaining stay. The staff is exceptional and very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable, nice breakfast in the morning and the location next to the park was great. This was the perfect hotel to end our Camino.

Room Tip: Roof top room had two sky lights - nice attic feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    47
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
65
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Recently stayed here after camino. It is a charming more traditional hotel in a handy location, quick walk through a nice park to the old town, and just round the corner from the shopping area. The room was very comfortable , very little street noise. The staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming. Internet access. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights after walking part of the Camino de Santiago. Very enjoyable and pleasant staff that spoke good english. Nice rooms, very clean, and a great location right on the square. Room service was also reasonable and the desk was staffed 24hrs. Would gratefully stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here after completing our Camino and found it to be perfect for our needs after being on the road for several days. The staff were more than friendly and helpful and the attention to detail made us feel special. The hotel is quite small but that just adds to the feeling of home, it's impeccably clean and the turn down service in the evenings is a lovely surprise. The hotel is just 7 minutes walk from the Cathedral and has a lovely park behind it. The menu, while limited is beautifully presented and freshly prepared. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, whatever your reason for being in Santiago. I look forward to returning again and again for weekends away. Great city, great hotel.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a room with a little enclosed balcony. Perfect for reading or just relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernadetteC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

finally, a hotel that is welcoming to Pilgrim's/ Americans. the staff has been very accommodating , helpful, friendly, and willing to try to speak English. they offer a good breakfast that's includes many different items hot and cold, in a nice location out of the direct traffic of the city central but still close, nice bed , lots of TV channels, clean bathroom with many little bathroom amenities, and a nice balcony. I give this place a 4 1/2 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night at the end of a 1-week language course at the university of Santiago.

From the first welcome to (literally) waving me off in a taxi at 05:30 in the morning, the staff were friendly and ultra-helpful.

The hotel is fairly small, situated with its back to the Alameda park. It is five minutes at most from the pedestrianised old city, which is a delight with its arcaded streets and many squares, and also close to the more modern shopping streets. Being outside the pedestrianised area means a taxi can bring you to the front door.

I had a double room to myself for c.£50. It was a little tight but with everything of high quality, and welcome aircon. Based on the floorplan it looked like this was one of the smaller rooms, so may be not representative. In the bathroom the shower was tricky to get into. There was no mini-bar and as far as I could see only Spanish and Galician stations on the TV. There is a lift. The decor is traditional rather than trendy, but not old-fashioned and anyway it suited me fine.

I wanted to eat tapas for my evening meal, which are not typical of Galicia where larger helpings are normal. The guy at the front desk explained this and marked out a couple of nearby recommended places which buck the trend and do serve tapas.

I had to check out very early for a Madrid flight, so did not have breakfast (although it was offered, at 05:15 - many bigger hotels can't manage that). The breakfast area looked small but clean and high quality.

Judged purely on physical characteristics I might have rated this hotel at three stars, but the good standard of the furnishings and fittings, the reasonable price, the location and above all the excellent staff mean it deserves four.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back, larger at the front - I would suggest getting in touch with the hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gebwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our ending point on our Camino walk. This hotel had a great check in . Nice rooms.
They had a turn down service at night that I thought was awesome. I would recommend this as a nice place to stay.

The location was very convenient for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.6 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herradura

Property: Hotel Herradura
Address: Avda. Xoan Carlos I - Alameda, 15701, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Herradura 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building, catalogued with the historical-artistic set, is in the monumental center and close to the most important commercial and business zones of the city, next to the Alameda Garden and "Paseo da Herradura." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Herradura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing