We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay was just as good as the first!”
Review of MX Mexico PR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MX Mexico PR
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Second stay was just as good as the first!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I first stayed at the Mexico 2 years ago and couldn't fault it so it was my first choice when I returned to Santiago de Compostela. And nothing had changed. I think it is possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in, every part of the bathrooms sparkled and this was true of all areas in the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and you can't really ask for more. There is also a free safe in the rooms. As with my first visit, my window looked out on to an internal patio but I didn't visit Santiago to look out of the hotel room window!

The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the old town (much of it uphill) and about the same distance from the airport bus stop. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you arrive by air, take the airport bus to the last stop and the hotel is only ten minutes walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIOkinawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    285
    83
    8
    7
See reviews for
97
191
126
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It's great hostel - new, clean and comfortable. The stuff is very nice and helpfull. The hostel is situated very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at this hostel. The only drawback was that it was about a twenty-minute walk to and from the old city of Santiago.
The staff were very nice, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and had a safe-box in our room in which to keep our valuables.
The bathroom in the room was clean, large and had the best shower I've ever had in a hotel!
I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craiova
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

we spent a very nice holiday to Santiago and this hotel was very clean , the staff friendly and carefully .
The hotel is near the old city center. For us, 10 or 15 minutes walking were a pleasure in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anca1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed here at the end of walking the Camino de Santiago. Hostal Mexico is only about a 10-15 minute walk from the cathedral, in a nice neighborhood, and very close to the train station. I was quite comfortable and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but was totally adequate for me. Great value for 35 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StlWrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I was really impressed by the Hostal Mexico. I couldn't get the online booking form to work so booked directly with the hotel by phone but still received the online rate. This hotel was approximately half the price of most others in Santiago (many of them with a lower star rating) for a single room and so I was very impressed with what I got. The room was spotlessly clean as were all public areas. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and powerful and the breakfast, although small, was fine. There was also a free safe in the room.
I had initially debated over booking this hotel as it is not located in the historic part of the city but it is only about ten minutes on foot to the old town and it is located in the main shopping area of the city. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIOkinawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Accomodation good value and clean. Reception on 4th floor - lift available - we had a triple room ensuite for 75 euros. Beds were comfortable and shower fine - we had a spacious balcony in front with garden table and chairs as well but weather too wet to ernjoy

It's about 10 minutes walk from the train station, which is also a drop off point for bus from airport, just follow roadway to left, cross road around garage and straight up street - this will cross CAlle republica and the hotel is a little on right. Its 10 minutes walk to the centre cathedarl area. Break fast is extra and next door in the cafe which was fine

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
#25 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#11 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Gran Hotel Santiago
Eurostars Gran Hotel Santiago
#31 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Congreso
Hotel Congreso
#42 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MX Mexico PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MX Mexico PR

Property: MX Mexico PR
Address: Rua da Republica Arxentina 33, 15701, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MX Mexico PR 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast, laundry, garage, a wide social lounge with Free WIFI Internet service, safety box in reception, fax, 2 elevators with direct access to the garage, meetings room and ADSL Internet service. All the services of a hotel in a modern hostel in Santiago de Compostela.And if you are travelling by bicycle we can also store it for you for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your MX Mexico PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing