We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel and restaurant, one star bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stunning location close to the cathedral, beautiful building, but without any great views. our room was on the small side, but very nice and full of character. Think monks cell. Pity about the bed. Big sag in the middle made it very uncomfortable. We did not intend to eat in the restaurant more than once - but as the daily menu was such great value - and amazing quality - we did! 19 euros for 3 courses of really interesting food. Wine reasonable. Lovely buffet breakfast and swimming pool (decent size to swim) with jacuzzi - great after lots of walking. Staff really helpful - apart from sorting the mattress - and car was securely parked during our stay. We would stay there again - but would check the bed first!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel F, Director de Recepción at San Francisco Hotel Monumento, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at San Francisco Hotel Monumento.

We are sorry to hear that the bed in your room 213 was not in good condition and we thank you for letting us know. Right after being informed of this situation, we went and checked the bed and today we are happy to say that we have been able to successfully fix it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again if you decide to come back to Santiago de Compostela.

Yours sincerely,

M. Furelos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 849 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

we have stayed in this hotel twice in the last year and found it really great. good location. great service. only faults in the lack of wifi in the rooms and the price of breakfast. Indoor pool stunning. Decor great. very comfortable beds. In walking distance of everything

Room Tip: get a street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent hotel, good indoor pool, lovely rooms and beautiful interior in this converted monastery. Very helpful staff and so convenient for the historic centre of the city. The old refectory in the monastery is stunning. Business centre could do with more than two computers; no wi-fi in rooms because of thickness of the buildings stone walls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markehowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel, which is a four minute walk from the Cathedral, is in a working monastery. On the downside, you're not likely to see many of the monks. On the upside, you won't be living the monk's life yourself. The roomsmare lovely, with well equipped bathrooms. The breakfast is spectacular. The only downside of the hotel is that the thick stone walls means the wireless doesn't extend to all the guest rooms. The renovations were done with flair.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days in Santiago de Compostela at the end of August. We were very pleased with our hotel. It was in a wonderful location - about a 3 minute walk from the Cathedral and a 5 minute walk from tons of shops and restaurants - but still far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel itself was a converted monastery and really captured the spirit of Santiago (the restaurant, courtyard and pool are definitely worth checking out). The hotel staff was extremely helpful and seemed to be fluent in a variety of languages. The hotel comes with free WiFi in the lobby, as well as computers hooked up to a printer. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone hoping to stay in the old city in Santiago.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our Camino to Santiago. This hotel is simply beautiful in every way. The location is perfect, not far from the main square. The building is steeped in history. The rooms are beautifully layed out. The food is wonderful, the breakfasts especially. Unlike its closest rival, the Parador, Monumento is simply but stylishly furnished. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. A bonus is the indoor pool and spa area. Loved it. a great place to stay. A nice treat after a long walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. It's extremely quiet despite it's centrality and the rooms are just lovely. Staff were very helpful at all times, offering all sorts of helpful tips and advice. It is pricier than other hotels but the all pervading sense of history that envelopes you here is hard to put a price on.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnMacManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,784 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Address: Rua San Francisco 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $161 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the Cathedral, right in Santiago de Compostela’s historic city centre, San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers its clients the tranquility and silence of an 18th-century Franciscan convent combined with all the services and comforts of a 4-star hotel. Free parking, Free Wifi and free access to the indoor pool & Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Hotel Monumento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing