We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. It's extremely quiet despite it's centrality and the rooms are just lovely. Staff were very helpful at all times, offering all sorts of helpful tips and advice. It is pricier than other hotels but the all pervading sense of history that envelopes you here is hard to put a price on.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnMacManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 871 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is incredibly unique and historic. Originally a monastery and some monks still reside here. It is quiet but when you step out the front door you are in the middle of the old town and all its interesting nooks and crannies. Breakfasts are great - plenty of fresh fruit salad, pastries, cheeses, smoked salmon, as well as eggs and bacon and some tapas. We loved the entire experience. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which gave us 2 rooms to ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very good room : clean, nice and quiet
Good breakfast
Nice swimming pool
Perfect location for turism
Friendly and helpfull staff
Wireless is free at the reception
Hotel staff on charge of Parking the car

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCARBONNEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Liked the hotel. Enjoyed the pool. Modern renovation complemented the old monastery very nicely. Would have given the top rating, but for the average reception that we received from the female receptionist upon late night arrival and the somewhat small size of the room ... then again, it was during the Fiestas Apostol and the hotel (as was the case with the rest of Santiago) was packed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmofighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having just completed the Camino Primitivo, this hotel really was the place to relax and stay in the cetnre of Santiago. Two mintues from the Cathedral, you couldn't ask for a closer yet peaceful spot in the city centre.

The hotel is a stunning old building, full of character with orginial features, yet also modern and stylishly furnished.

Our room (more like an apartment!) was huge, and we were shocked to see we also had a seperate lounge area too.

Only gripes we had were :

-with the swimming pool- the water appeared a little cloudy, and the jacuzzi spelt very much like wet dog fur. This area, we felt, was an added extra, that perhaps needed more attention/better maintainance

- also, having run the bath (despite waiting "2 minutes" as told by the hotel advisor), the bath/show water was a dirty brown colour; very brown indeed. Although I were not too worried this was a health risk (it smelt fine), more rather just sand from the pumping system, we felt this was unacceptable. Despite emptying an entire bath and running it again, the water colour remained the same. Not nice! The hotel staff apologised and said it was something to do with "a lot of rain recently blocking the city" and then "digging up the roads"???

Other than the above, a wonderful place to stay; excellent service, quality and price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This lovely hotel in a great location - near all the main attractions but away from the noise - was comfortable, well appointed and atmospheric. Thanks to the thick walls WiFi not accessible in the rooms but readily elsewhere. Breakfast was great with lovely fruit and the grilled vegetables with dinner were lovely and plentiful.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a hotel and what a location - 5 mins from the Cathedral and old town
What a setting, from the moment that you pull up at the front door, the building is breathtaking
It is a converted monastery with a lot of the rooms and staircases still in place
The restaurant is situated in the room that they used to pray in and next door is the magnificent room that they used to eat in
The staff are incredibly helpfull and respectful, recommending beaches to visit and places to go
When I mentioned that my wife needed some gluten free bread they sent out and got some especially, so breakfasts were a joy for her (If you suffer from Coelics disease and you cant get bread, you will know what I mean) but the breakfasts anyway were superb with everything to hand and attentive staff on hand
I travel a lot with work and I have visited some fine hotels all over the world but I would reccomend this in my personal top 10
When I return to Santiago I will use this hotel again

Room Tip: I was on 4th Floor but its always good to ask for an upgrade, a friend of mine did and got upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curzonparkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,884 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel Monumento

Address: Rua San Francisco 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $144 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Hotel Monumento 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the Cathedral, right in Santiago de Compostela’s historic city centre, San Francisco Hotel Monumento offers its clients the tranquility and silence of an 18th-century Franciscan convent combined with all the services and comforts of a 4-star hotel. Free parking, Free Wifi and free access to the indoor pool & Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Hotel Monumento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing