We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal after arriving in Santiago after doing the Camino de Santiago!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosa Rosae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosa Rosae
Certificate of Excellence
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal after arriving in Santiago after doing the Camino de Santiago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here after doing the "Camino de Santiago", arriving in Santiago de Compostela on foot after walking 100km in four days. After a not too pleasant experience in a hostel it was great to stay somewhere so ideal - comfortable, warm, clean, spacious, and with an awesome shower! We actually booked somewhere else, the "Santo Grial", but due to a booking mixup they contacted us and offered us the (more expensive) Rosa Rosae for the same price as the other one, including breakfast (which our original booking didn't include), a nice touch. As for the accommodation, couldn't fault it - 10-15 mins walk from the centre of the city, breakfast simple but everything you need, free internet access (wifi and a computer in the lobby), very helpful and friendly staff, and the best bit - every afternoon from 4pm to 10pm, free coffee and cakes! Hurrah!

We had a top floor room that had skylights and was very warm, quiet and comfortable. If I had to criticise anything it would be that the lift was very slow, but when there are only three floors it's not actually that important!

Very enjoyable stay, will stay there again next time we go to Santiago and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBEHnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    52
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
68
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

I just spent a few days in Santiago with my wife, my sister's family, and my mother-in-law. Our stay at the Rora Rosae Hotel was very pleasant, rooms were not big, quite simple, but everything was very useful, bathrooms looked brand new, everything very clean.. the hotel was small, very quiet and tranquil. The service was the best part, all staff were incredibly kind and helpful all the time. Breakfast was, once again, simple but not unsuficient. The hotel was a 5 or 10 minute walk away from the center of the city.
And the prices were very reasonable!!
I would definitely recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Santiago.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectorjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

We booked as it was so central - an easy walk from the centre - and fairly cheap. We did not expect such a smart stylish, comfortable hotel. Our room was large and breakfast was great. It was the little touches that made it special, such as the honesty bar, breakfast room open from 4 pm - 10 pm to help yourself to free coffee, fruit and soft drinks, the free wi-fi on every floor, etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We had a tiny room, but it was very clean with everything two people need for a short stay. Buffet breakfast had a very honest price (4.50) and there was a free afternoon coffee and free internet use for the hotel guests. Location was good, in an area with charming houses between the town centre and the railway station. The best thing was the reception: we missed our flight to Barcelona and consequently the flight from Barcelona to Rome, the receptionist took care of re-reserving our new flights for the day after (it took something like an half hour) with clickair, she has been very careful and professional. Actually flying with clickair is something I wouldn't reccomend to anyone: small seats, high prices and on the flight from Barcelona to Rome (02/01/2009 - 18.45) there was the rudest stewardess I've ever met (and I traveled a lot). I would instead reccomend to anyone Rosa Rosae, Santiago de Compostela is a very beautiful town and if we shall visit the town again, I would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucio_rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

All of the other good reviews are correct. However, none mention the noise levels. I was woken at 2 and 4am by people coming in, mainly by the noise of two set of blinds being lowered. The walls are paper thin. You hear everything. Would not recommend.

  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Located near to the centre of Santiago de Compostela, Rosa Rosae is a small, modern hotel with great access to the city. Its situated on a main road, but we weren't distracted by noise at all. The whole decor is modern and minimalist, but still welcoming and comfortable. It was great value and the staff behind the desk spoke brilliant English - one even arranged us a hire car while we went out shopping!

The highlight for us was the free tea/coffee and pastries served between 4pm-10pm. They only serve breakfast, but there are plenty of delicious places to eat in the cities Historic Quarter. We can highly recommend Casa Rosalia for great tapas, wine and friendly service.

The only thing we would request is they make more of the outside area by possibly adding a few tables and chairs, it was nice to get some sun there on our first day, but we'd have been more comfortable if we had something to sit on! Also, a little more selection at breakfast would be nice, but I'm really picking now!

We'd highly recommend staying here for a very civilised, unpretentious and cultured city break - lets just hope it doesn't get ruined as many other great European destinations have by stag-do's etc.

  • Liked — All round attention to detail
  • Disliked — Not much!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moody79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral,uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

excellent small hotel,very clean,staff speak english and could not have been more helpful.To return to the hotel after walking all day and be able to have free hot drinks and a pastry was appreciated.Situated 5 mins.from airport bus stop and 10 mins.from Renfre rail station.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lesettaWirral_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santiago Lux
Santiago Lux
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#44 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
Hotel Eurostars Araguaney
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herradura
Hotel Herradura
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Rosae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Rosae

Property: Rosa Rosae
Address: Calle la Rosa, 7, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosa Rosae 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rosa Rosae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing