We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, charming hotel, perfect location, but surly staff”
Review of Hotel Airas Nunes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Airas Nunes
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spotless, charming hotel, perfect location, but surly staff”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August 2010. It is a charming and characterful hotel, superbly located on one of the most picturesque old streets in the centre of Santiago. The rooms were spacious with high ceilings. They have done a great job converting this old building, with exposed stonework and beautiful polished wooden floors. There is good quality old furniture, all solid wood with a proper wardrobe, desk and even a charming coat/hat stand. The bed was distinctly firm (as all Spanish hotel beds seem to be) but it was very comfortable.

I was in room 24 which looked out on the street with amazing views from the balcony up to one of the cathedral towers in one direction, and down the street in the other. It had full-length french doors which opened onto a small balcony with a flower box. The doors were double-glazed and also had shutters, net curtains and also proper curtains. It was delightful to be able to go out onto the balcony and watch the world go by.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean, the water was hot and the water pressure was fantastic in both the shower and the bath. It has a sensible sink - none of your stylish but useless designs that I have seen in other places.

Being crowded with thousands of pilgrims and late-night revellers (as one would expect in Santiago), there was a lot of hubbub from the street all day and well into the night. And in the early hours of the morning the council come and hose down the street. The street is paved with granite and the buildings rise up on either side, creating a sort of magnifying acoustic reverberation chamber. But with the french doors closed the double glazing made the noise significantly quieter and I had no trouble sleeping. There was also a double vestibule outside the door to the room, which blocked off any sounds from the lobby.

On the top floor there is a computer with free internet access, but no printer or other 'business' facilities.

There is no restaurant but none is needed since there are literally hundreds of fabulous cafes, bars and restaurants within a few seconds' walk, including a cafe right next door, also called Airas Nunes, which does excellent breakfasts. There was a menu in the room from a nearby restaurant, which I think might have been their version of Room Service.

The hotel is literally 1 minute walk from the main entrance to the cathedral.

Two comments which may matter to some potential guests: first, there is no lift. The reception is on the first floor up a granite spiral staircase, which continues all the way up through to the top (4th) floor. So for some people who might struggle with heavy bags this might be a problem, and there is nobody there to help.

Second, the two girls on the reception desk were EXTREMELY surly, unwelcoming and unfriendly (as also noted by a previous reviewer). They were monosyllabic, bored and unhelpful. They didnt look up from their desk or say hello or goodbye as I came in and out of the hotel. I personally didn't care about this and it made no difference to my enjoyment of my stay. Also, the booking details specifically stated that payment would be due on checkout but they demanded full payment on arrival; when I pointed out the discrepancy she just shrugged as if to say "take it or leave it".

If you want to go into the cathedral and are not a pilgrim, I strongly recommend you make the effort to get up early and be at the door when it opens at 7am: at this time you will walk straight in but any later the queues for the cathedral were literally a mile long.

Also if you are visiting Santiago then you must make a point of going to O Gato Negro, reputed to be the best tapas bar in town: I really enjoyed it.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsb1685Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
44
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I stayed in this small, quiet, very well kept hotel for 2 nights after finishing walking the Camino de Santiago. It is located only a few doors down from the Pilgrims Office, on a pedestrian street. The decor is very warm and welcoming. The standard and quality of this 2* is much higher than you would get from, say, 2* hotels in the UK, where I live. My room was a bit small, with a single bed - if I went back I'd probably splash out on a double. Receptionist was very friendly and pleasant despite the fact that when I arrived I looked quite scruffy and unkempt.

From the ground floor of the hotel you can pass directly into the cafe/restaurant next door, where they do very good value buffet lunches.

Location, with it being 1min away from the cathedral, is as central as it gets. However note that if you have a car it might not be a good location for you, as it's on a pedestrian street in the old town.

Lovely place - Well recommended!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelle304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed here one night based on a recommmendation and having stayed at their sister hotel earlier on this trip. This is in the heart of Santiago and you could not ask for a better location. Our room was very comfortable and they had done a great job of renovating an old building to give it modern conveniences.

We would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GTRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

We stayed at the Airas Nunes after finishing our hike on the Camino de Santiago. We finished our hike a day earlier than we had planned. There wasn't any room at the Airas Nunes that night, but the woman at the front desk was very helpful, and found us a room at their nearby sister hotel, the Virxe de Cerca, for our first night in Santiago de Compostela, and then we came back to the Airas Nunes the next night, when we had a reservation. The triple room at the Airas Nunes was cramped, but that minor inconvenience was outweighed by the great location on a pedestrian-only street about 150 meters from the cathedral. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Rua do Vilar. It's a great location for shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. I liked the Virxe de Cerca better because the triple room was bigger and had a tub rather than just a shower at the Airas, but both are fine hotels, and if you want to be in the heart of Santiago, I recommend the Airas Nunes.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 57BelAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

This is a modest place to stay, it does not have a fancy restaurant or spacious ground floor lobby, but the room we stayed in was charming. It was very well designed to make the best use of space and original architectural features and while the central location meant it was a little noisy at night, we had a view of the cathedral tower and besides, it was holiday time. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, they provided a map and were happy to lend umbrellas. Breakfast was not included, but was available in the hotel's own café next door which provided freshly squeezed orange, croissants and pastries. I would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Hotel As Artes
Casa Hotel As Artes
#37 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rua Villar
Hotel Rua Villar
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#14 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#39 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
#25 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airas Nunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airas Nunes

Property: Hotel Airas Nunes
Address: Rua Vilar 17, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airas Nunes 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airas Nunes Hotel housed in a renovated eighteenth century building located 50 meters from the cathedral of Santiago. It offers rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Hotel Airas Nunes are spacious and cozy. Original features such as wooden beams and stone walls, and have satellite TV and private bathrooms with hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. It is possible to check in 24 hours using an automatic machine. A few steps away, in the Galician capital, there are numerous restaurants and bars and the Pilgrims ofical luggage, from where you can send your stick, backpack or bike to your home and use their laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Airas Nunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airas Nunes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing