We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to see it in real life.”
Review of Botafumeiro

Botafumeiro
Book In Advance
More Info
$664.20*
and up
7-Day Camino Frances Walking Tour from Sarria to Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An experience to see it in real life.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A sight I have never seen before. Truely amazing to see the Botafumeiro being swung from ceiling to ceiling with the smoke. It takes less than five minutes, but the memory will stay with me forever.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlina52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,540
    336
    73
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impressive botafumeiro”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very unique experience, you need to see, maybe the highest in the world, make sure to check the schedule, I believe that everyday at midday, you can go half past midday and still check, otherwise you have to wait for a while if you don't participate of the mass

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabasjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just included information on the Botafumeria which I think I spelt incorrectly, it truly was a spectacular sight, it is at the end of Mass. So if you have time don't miss it. However it is not used at all every time but do believe it is at the Pilgrim Mass on Sundays.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pilgrim's Mass on 11th Sept 2013”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The highlight of our visit to the cathedral was seeing the Botafumeiro swinging across the apse of the cathedral after the pilgrim's Mass. All during our Camino walk we wondered if we would be fortunate enough to witness the Botafumeiro in operation. It's a experience I'll not easily forget. By the way, be sure to get along to the Mass at least 20 mins before the start at 12 noon, else you'll have to stand. The best seats to witness the great event is in the first few seats in the apse on either side. Seamus Greene

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Seamus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The most unique part of the Pilgrim's Mass”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's amazing!!!! A must see, specially if you finished the Camino de Santiago. Sit preferably on either side of the altar for the best possible view.

Helpful?
1 Thank MadRod787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botafumeiro also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Botafumeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing