We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
168
56
9
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
168
56
9
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location beautiful streets old town stay there again old section would highly recommend this hotel perfect hotel stayed here for nights central location sitting area restaurants and shops superior room great room torte first floor comfortable rooms tapas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 243 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

My third floor room, perfectly sized for one person, had a skylight on its sloped ceiling that opened to the cool night air. In an old building with huge beams, with the cathedral chiming every quarter hour, you knew you were in a special place. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good coffee with tarta de Gallego mid-morning to keep me going. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank abcfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Terrific little hotel literally three steps from the glorious Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela! Staff are friendly (& fluent in English), place is spotless and the rooms are huuuuuuuge and include a bathtub (a rarity in 3* hotels).

Loved the hotel and highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank viv_s_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

This hotel is on one of the most beautiful streets in Spain - the second most beautiful because of the arches, buildings, and close to the Cathedral. Within walking distance to everything wonderful in the Old Town, you can't do better than this lovely hotel. To be enjoyed.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Dear Danielle G:
Thank you very much for having taken a part of your time to leave such a detailed review of our Hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and particularly in what concerns location, and service. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you come back to Santiago de Compostela in the future, and would apply you a 10% off on the room rate just for being a returning guest as long as you book directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

I have stayed in the Rua Villar twice after completing sections of the Camino and it is an oasis. It is right next to the Cathedral and on a street (Rua do Vilar) of shops and restaurants. The rooms are somewhat small but clean and very functional. The rate for Easter week for my single room was 75 Euros, very good value compared to some of the lesser hotels along the Camino at higher prices.There is a mezzanine sitting area and a small restaurant, reduced in size since my last visit to accommodate a souvenir shop, just what Santiago does not need more of. The restaurant keeps limited hours, but then the dining schedule in Spain generally does not conform to my pilgrim day. The staff speaks fluent English and is very friendly. This is my first choice of Old Town hotels in Santiago.

Room tip: The street-side rooms get some noise...the Easter week processions when we were there. Light sleepers might prefer off-street rooms.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Guidontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservations Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Dear Guidontheroad:
Thank you very much for having taken a part of your precious time to leave such a detailed review of our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your last stay overall, and particularly in what concerns location, facilities, quality-price ratio, and staff. Regarding the restaurant, we do not have a restaurant in the hotel any longer but are happy to make recommendations for the nearly 300 restaurants that you can find in less than half a mile from here; the café, on the other hand, is available for our guests to have breakfast. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago de Compostela again in the future and would be happy to apply an exclusive discount for returning guests as long as you book directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Came across this wonderful hotel on my recent visit to Santiago De Compostela best 2 nights spend here with Family.
Ive been in Santiago few times before but i would not swap anywhere else with Hotel Rua Del Villar.
Staff where amazing, Food, Drinks Locations all worthwhile!
Would definitely come back!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Alex_natwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews