We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
164
55
9
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
164
55
9
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location beautiful streets old town stay there again old section would highly recommend this hotel central location stayed here for nights sitting area restaurants and shops superior room this lovely hotel great room first floor comfortable rooms tapas breakfast buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 238 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2019

The hotel is pretty much as close to the Cathedral as you can be, simply a walk to the end of the street. The area surrounding it is also full of restaurants, tapas bars and gift shops, so convenient for pretty much everything.
Our room was clean, bigger than expected, and a little quirky in its shape with a long hall and looking in to the atrium in the middle of the hotel.
Warm and friendly welcome. Great buffet breakfast.

Room tip: Ask for room 25, it’s the only one that has a view of the Cathedral apparently.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruavillar, Recepción y Reservas at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Travellin_Steve:

Thank you so much for having taken your time to leave a review about our Hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and more specifically in what concerns its location, your room and the staff.

For us, it would be a pleasure to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

One block off the Cathedral plaza, this hotel provides good value and comfortable lodging for tired peregrinos. Nicely furnished, attentive clerks, and a sense of quiet escape from the crush of tourists outside. As we had just cycled the Caminho Portugues we needed to be able to leave our bikes in the hotel until they could be picked up by the rental company - this was no problem, and the clerk took care of carrying them all up the stairs to the first floor storage area. The only complaint was our single friend, who ended up in a tiny attic room - if you're traveling alone, specifically request a room other than the Cinderella Suite (as we referred to it). Otherwise, completely lovely place and surprisingly affordable.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Clean and spacious rooms in a great location in old town only one block from the cathedral. An energetic and engaging staff with good restaurant recommendations and always ready to help with anything. Rolled easily with changes to our existing reservations. And some of the best coffee anywhere.

Room tip: Streetside rooms feature church bells throughout the night
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel in perfect location...comfortable, quiet and great breakfast...few steps away from cathedral and restaurants but tucked away enough give feeling of peace and quiet..cafe serving breakfast and lunch open between 8am - 3pm...helpful well knowleged team

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank swallowtails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

If you want to be in the thick of things in Santiago, this is an excellent choice. There is no acres by car, but parking nearby is possible.
The rooms are fully updated, and well-appointed.
From the front door of the hotel to the entrance of the cathedral is no more than 75m.
We opted to get an a la carte breakfast in their 'cafeteria', and had great coffee, bacon, eggs, and toast for €12 for 2!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WDSPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear WDSPonce: thank you so much for having taken a part of your time to leave a review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and the location, facilities, and café in particular. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago in the future and will be glad to give you a 10% off in the room rate just for being a returning guest and booking directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews