We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
164
55
9
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
164
55
9
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location beautiful streets old town stay there again old section would highly recommend this hotel central location stayed here for nights sitting area restaurants and shops superior room this lovely hotel great room first floor comfortable rooms tapas breakfast buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 238 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2018

One block off the Cathedral plaza, this hotel provides good value and comfortable lodging for tired peregrinos. Nicely furnished, attentive clerks, and a sense of quiet escape from the crush of tourists outside. As we had just cycled the Caminho Portugues we needed to be able to leave our bikes in the hotel until they could be picked up by the rental company - this was no problem, and the clerk took care of carrying them all up the stairs to the first floor storage area. The only complaint was our single friend, who ended up in a tiny attic room - if you're traveling alone, specifically request a room other than the Cinderella Suite (as we referred to it). Otherwise, completely lovely place and surprisingly affordable.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Clean and spacious rooms in a great location in old town only one block from the cathedral. An energetic and engaging staff with good restaurant recommendations and always ready to help with anything. Rolled easily with changes to our existing reservations. And some of the best coffee anywhere.

Room tip: Streetside rooms feature church bells throughout the night
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel in perfect location...comfortable, quiet and great breakfast...few steps away from cathedral and restaurants but tucked away enough give feeling of peace and quiet..cafe serving breakfast and lunch open between 8am - 3pm...helpful well knowleged team

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank swallowtails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

If you want to be in the thick of things in Santiago, this is an excellent choice. There is no acres by car, but parking nearby is possible.
The rooms are fully updated, and well-appointed.
From the front door of the hotel to the entrance of the cathedral is no more than 75m.
We opted to get an a la carte breakfast in their 'cafeteria', and had great coffee, bacon, eggs, and toast for €12 for 2!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WDSPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear WDSPonce: thank you so much for having taken a part of your time to leave a review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and the location, facilities, and café in particular. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago in the future and will be glad to give you a 10% off in the room rate just for being a returning guest and booking directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

The Santiago Parador was booked solid, so the company that planned my biking tour offered the Rua Villar as a place to stay. What a great choice they made for my wife and me considering that it was centrally located to the old section of the city (only one block away from the cathedral), it cost less than the Parador, the accommodations were very comfortable and luxurious, and the staff was among the friendliest that I have ever run into at a hotel. We just LOVED this place! The large French doors to the balcony that overlooked Rua Villar might have been a bit noisy since we were on the 2nd floor (what would be considered the 3rd in the US), but to our surprise, the street gets very quiet towards bedtime and by around ten, there is no noise whatsoever. For a large city like this, with as many tourists as we saw in the daytime, the nights are surprisingly quiet. Modern bathroom and shower was very soothing and as usual, there were not enough hooks or towel bars on the walls, but that seems to be the norm in most hotels in general. Not a big deal overall. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Santiago. A charming place with old world atmosphere. WiFi is available in the rooms, but I found it a bit slow. Much stronger signal on the first floor sitting area off the lobby. Comfortable sofa and easy chairs to sit in without being in the middle of hotel traffic.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astroarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruavillar, Reception & Reservation Dept. at Hotel Rua Villar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear astroarchitect: thank you so much for having taken a part of your time to leave such a detailed review about out hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and particularly in what concerns the location, the staff, and the facilities. About the WiFi. there is no optical fiber yet in the Old Town due to problems with Heritage restrictions but we hope that it will be available in the future--apart from that, the stone walls do not help the WiFi to be strong. For us, it would be an honour to host you again if you are coming back to Santiago de Compostela in the future, and you would apply you a 10% off on the room rate for being a returning guest as long as you book directly with us. Best regards, Hotel Rua Villar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews