We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find a stone's throw from the Cathedral”
Review of Hotel Rua Villar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rua Villar
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find a stone's throw from the Cathedral”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

After arriving in Santiago following 11 days of walking, we were delighted to happen upon the Hotel Rua Villar, having called in on spec.
The hotel is very centrally located, and is very well maintained. The breakfast buffet was more than fine; staff were helpful and pleasant; and the rooms have feature stone walls.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MulberrySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    43
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
62
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Beautiful little (14 rooms) hotel in front of the famous Santiago de Compostela cathederal, where the penitents end their walk across Spain to its doors. Dark gleaming wood, warm beige walls and subtle furnishings, great bathrooms, wonderful breakfasts and great service--and great prices. great for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — you could get room totally black for sleep due to wooden floor to ceiling shutters
  • Disliked — tiny elevator but hey, it is europe!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloosefloozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

This hotel is situated on the Rua do Vilar, one of the main narrow cobbled streets in the old town. The street is largely traffic free, especially in the evening. Our room (12) overlooked the street from a pair of balconies and this really brought the old town into the room. Noise wasn't a problem, however as there were a combination of 3 sets of door and heavy curtains. We arrived by taxi but I would think parking would be a big problem - this hotel is probably a non-starter if you want to bring a car.

The room, bathroom and furnishings were in excellent order and there was a good combination of lighting. The bathroom was fitted with a shortish bath but the water never really got hot enough for a good wallow. Quality shampoos etc. Plenty of storage, good quality hangers, a safe and a (soft) mini-bar. No tea/coffe tray.

Buffet breakfast pedestrian but adequate - including the ubiquitous and yummy Tarta de Santiago. Staff were efficient and helpfull and spoke enough English to fill in the many gaps in my schoolboy Spanish!

So, all positive with no real gripes. However, at E150 for the room & brekky per night it doesn't really do anything you can't get for much less. Unless you really want to stay bang in the middle of the old town, and that in itself is very pleasant, I would try one of the
attic rooms at the Altair up on Loureiros which is every bit as good and 2/3 of the price.

  • Liked — Smack in the heart of town in an old, sympathetically modernised building
  • Disliked — Problem parking, not particularly good value
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muckypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2006

I was in Hotel Rua Villar two nights, 20 to 21 April 2006. It is a small hotel made of a old house in the historic center of Santiago (very close to Cathedral), but with all the modern comfort: a wonderful room, with good furniture, LCD TV, Internet ADSL (it was important to me because I had to work at my portable computer), CD/DVD player, air conditioned, a very good bathroom... We were in a room with balcony (with windows), where there were a small table with two chairs what was very nice to stay there and feel the life of Santiago. It is important that the hotel is situated in a street without cars - pedestrian street, so it is very quiet at night and animated during the day. The breakfast buffet is of good quality and above average considering the small dimensions of hotel. The staff is really helpful and nice, making us feel very comfortable. I would sum up saying that is a hotel very different from the big and impersonal hotels. By the contrary, this is a beautiful hotel, very comfortable too, located in a unique place, with personal attention from staff, well decorated, very quiet. A place to remember and if possible to go back...

Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2005

I had visited Santiago in 2002 and stayed in the Parador but I considered it now to be overpriced. I found the Hotel Rua Villar (located in Rua do Villar, a few steps from the Cathedral) through a review in the NY Times. It is a lovely boutique hotel. My room (I think it was #13) was a double with walls with exposed stones and very modern bathroom. The hotel has A/C which came in very handy since I was in Santiago during a heat wave and it was very hot.

The breakfast was included and although not great it was satisfactory. The staff was very nice and helpful.

The location was great, a few steps from the cathedral. The room was well insulated from noise but if I tried very hard I could hear the bells from the cathedral. My room looked to the pedestrian Rua Do Villar and had a nice french balcony with geranium boxes. I paid 110Euros for a double, single occupancy.

I would definitively stay there again. Highly recommend it.

Helpful?
10 Thank katarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2005

This hotel was absolutely the best. In a wonderful location, modern conveniences, and right in the center of the city. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, wished they had known more English, but we survived. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ldr435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Airas Nunes
Hotel Airas Nunes
#41 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
Hotel Pazo de Altamira
#22 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#14 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Hotel As Artes
Casa Hotel As Artes
#37 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rua Villar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rua Villar

Property: Hotel Rua Villar
Address: Rua Vilar 8-10, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rua Villar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rua Villar is located in the historical center of Santiago, just 15 meters from the Cathedral. Opened in 2004, which was an eighteenth century manor house, it maintains original features such as the wooden beams and impressive central skylight. It has 15 rooms equipped with bathroom, minibar, telephone, safe, plasma TV, CD and DVD, as well as air conditioning, climate control, free Wi-Fi service, room service, 24-hour reception and a panoramic elevator. It is worth highlighting our important permanent art gallery with works by the most renowned Spanish artists.The excellent location of the hotel is ideal for walking to all the sights of Santiago. The public car park San Clemente is 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rua Villar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rua Villar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing