We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect home away from home!”
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although I stayed at Hotel Costa Vella in November, it is still important for me to write this review. I stayed here for 4 days after walking the Camino. The hotel is in a great location and I was able to walk everywhere. My room was immaculate and very cosy. What makes this an amazing place to stay though is the staff! They go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a wonderful room overlooking the garden. Robert recommended places for me to see in Santiago including the market (which I loved!). I will definitely stay here again after my next Camino adventure! Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davekare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 720 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just came back today from Santiago de Compostela and i couldn't wait to write a review for this hotel. The place is just right - clean, comfortable, and beatiful. The service - OUT of this World!!! They provide the most amazing breakfast with a beautiful view to the hotel's garden, and always come back to offer more cafe con leche - what else can you ask for? It's truly an experience. Roberto and Jose are so welcoming and the ladies that work with them as well. I gurantee you that you will leave this hotel pleased and wanting to come back.
Gracias Roberto por la sonrisa en el cafe = ) y a la camarera por no echar mis documentos al cesto ... Espero en un futuro cercano volver!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want 6* service then I would wholeheartedly recommend this great family-run hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special and all the staff, but especially Roberto and Javier, were really friendly and welcoming. From the freshly-squeezed orange juice in the beautiful hotel garden to the wonderful breakfast (we were full to bursting every morning after the fresh juice, coffee, croissants, toast, tarta de Santiago - local almond cake), everything was of the highest quality and served with a genuine smile. The location of the hotel was great - just inside the old town but away from the noise of the main square. We were given great advice on things to do with the kids (I would recommend the Italian restaurant in the Cancelas shopping mall which has a huge kids' play area and where you can choose from a buffet of about 20 different types of pizza and pasta from about €10 per adult with beer and wine included!) and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. This really was the best hotel experience I can remember and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else next time we visit Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattcooper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

On our way back from Portugal to Madrid w decided to stop in Santiago de Compostela. We booked two rooms last minute based on the reviews here. Let me tell you, you can;t go wrong with Tripadvisor. From the minute I call to inquire for availability I knew this was a different hotel. We arrived at the entrance and spotted the beautiful couryard with a stunning Church in the background, such a nice old world feeling. The hotel has a small reception desk area, very welcoming smiley people and a homey feel. We were upgraded at no extra charge to two Gallery rooms overlooking the garden with its beautiful flowers and trees even in winter, the Church and the Monastery. On every floor they have a sitting area, one for reading and the other one for breakfast...Ohhh breakfast, that was the highlight of our trip. The next morning we got up and started our day with a delicious treat. Robert was our server, a young guy full of energy willing to pleased us. None of our many requests were turned down. Robert brought us fresh bread, tomato, olive oil, delicious croissants, local cheese, hot thick chocolate and perfect cafe con leche...We couldn't believe how good the breakfast was for the price of the room. Location is great, close to shops, restaurants and important sites. The lunch recommendation was fantastic, we ate at La Bodeguilla...Great food, great price with the real local feeling. I will recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience the Galician Flavors. The only little thing I should point out is the fact that the building is a little bit noisy inside, you can hear people going down the stairs and shutting doors, but since we were there for one night only and there were not that many people I should not rate this less than 5 because that didn't stop us from enjoying the place to the fullest. Santiago is a very touching place that you should visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were recently visiting our daughter who is living in Santiago and teaching English in a nearby town. The parents of a friend of hers recommended Costa Vella and after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor our expectations were very high. Not only were our expectations met they were clearly exceeded. We stayed at the hotel twice during our trip with a tour of Spain and side trip to Italy in between. Even before we arrived we were provided a huge Word Doc that had all sorts of info about the town and local area including tips on restaurants as well as things to do and see.

At the start of our trip we stayed on the top floor in a very cute, comfortable room overlooking the garden. The room was a good size and the vaulted ceiling made it feel bigger. At the end of the trip we decided at the last minute not to do a planned trip to Portugal and they were happy to provide accommodations. We were set up in a mini-suite on the second floor. It has a separate sitting area overlooking the garden with a phenomenal view of the Galician country-side. In both cases Roberto and the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful with whatever we needed. As mentioned by others breakfast is served in a cute eating area – it was delicious including a large slice of toasted local bread with tomatoes, olive oil and cheese – yum! If requested, they will also bring fruit, croissants or yogurt. In the evening the sitting area is a great spot to relax and have a glass of local wine before heading out to dinner. All of this for 65 Euro a night including breakfast – truly the best deal of any accommodation in all of our travels! We cannot recommend it highly enough.

A couple of other notes: We were fortunate to be in town for New Year’s Eve. In the plaza in front of the Cathedral they set up a large stage with a great “salsa-type” band. Everyone was given a bunch of grapes and a bag full of hats, masks and noise makers. By midnight the plaza was filled with thousands of revelers to eat 12 grapes to the gongs of the Cathedral bells followed by a fireworks show and lots of dancing and merry- making. It was the best New Years Eve ever! Also, if you have a car I strongly advise a trip out to Finisterre and Muxia – both are awe-inspiring experiences.

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, the rooms facing the garden (away from the street) are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmot49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After spending 33 days walking the camino, the Costa Vella Hotel was the perfect stop for us in Santiago! The price of the rooms were certainly higher than what we were used to 'en route' but very reasonable compare to other cities. This family owned hotel thrives in any way to help its guest to have a very pleasant stay and they have succeeded with us! The owners helped us figure out our luggage problem by calling for us the shipping company and were so helpful answering multitude of questions. The continental breakfast were delicious and the dining room spaces as well as the terrace outside are simply lovely. The room was very clean and comfortable and the Yves Rocher soaps was a nice touch specially after using an all-purpose soap for a month! We would and have already recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schryburt_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

After 35 days on the Camino we found a room at a small hotel that proved to be noisy day and night...so we gathered up and found a room at Costa Vella that was a gem. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the breakfast delicious, the room clean and beautiful and the garden area a place to lose oneself in the afternoon heat. I wish we would have found it sooner. It is very popular so would advice booking ahead. Close to the cathedral but very quiet at night. We were able to store our backpacks in the hotel for the day even though we had checked out while we waited for our train to leave that night. Thank you for a great ending to our adventure. Loved this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thethurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $54 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing