We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small hidden oasis in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lummi Island, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A small hidden oasis in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

After 35 days on the Camino we found a room at a small hotel that proved to be noisy day and night...so we gathered up and found a room at Costa Vella that was a gem. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the breakfast delicious, the room clean and beautiful and the garden area a place to lose oneself in the afternoon heat. I wish we would have found it sooner. It is very popular so would advice booking ahead. Close to the cathedral but very quiet at night. We were able to store our backpacks in the hotel for the day even though we had checked out while we waited for our train to leave that night. Thank you for a great ending to our adventure. Loved this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thethurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    105
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
301
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our Camino adventure was topped off by staying at this lovely small hotel. Robert and the staff went out of their way to help us. We stayed in room 205 overlooking the garden and on Sunday, we were treated with beautiful music in the afternoon.

We had to catch a flight before the kitchen officially opened, but Robert said he would accomodate us.

I highly recommend this gracious hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just stayed at this wonderful hotel. The staff was fantastic! Our room had a sitting area that looked out onto the garden and the hills of Santiago. I think it was room 201. The indoor-out-door bar area was a great place for a drink before dinner. Wine was served with complementary olives and nuts. There are great restaurants nearby and a small grocery store right across the street. The hotel is in the heart of the historical part of town and is within walking distance all the sights. The gentleman at the front desk was so nice and helpful-I wish I had gotten his name.
The hotel was someone's house and has been renovated to maintain tradition, but has all the modern comforts.

Room Tip: I believe we stayed in room 201 overlooking the garden. Beautiful sitting area to read or relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I was trying to find a hotel while walking around this part of town, close to the cathedral and did not have access to the internet so could not use "Trip Advisor". I noticed this hotel had won an award from Trip Advisor so I knew it would be good. When I asked if there was a room, the manager Robert immediately offered a discount and showed me around the hotel. The whole staff was very friendly. I was too early to check in but was given a complimentary breakfast; the only traditional Spanish one I've had after a month of traveling here. Overall, a lovely experience staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

An excellent staff always eager to accommodate. We felt very welcome, and our desires wete often anticipated. Clean and well-maintained. Lovely garden out back. Rooms slightly noisy, especially those facing the street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the very welcome to the farewell after our 5 days sejour in Santiago we felt like at home in this small hotel with our room facing the well kept garden and the nice fountain! Breakfast is tasty and you can have a nice strong espresso. The toasted bread with olive oil and tomatoes is a good start of the day! The family run hotel with its staff are very helpful and enjoy doing what they do! We booked this hotel after having read all the positive comments we found in the tripadvisor and can reiterate them all. When we return to Santiago in the future, we will return to this welcoming hotel

Room Tip: chose the rooms with closed balcony and you will be facing the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Costa Vella was one of the best travel experiences I have ever had. Enjoyed every moment from beginning to end. Antonio, Javier and staff were so helpful and so careful to make sure everything was perfect. I was especially grateful for the wonderful restaurant recommendations at neighborhood places. Everything was fantastico!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but one with a gallery is extra nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Property: Costa Vella Hotel
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing