We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming setting, only surpassed by outstanding service.”
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved this place! We had a balcony room, overlooking the garden, the San Fransican monastery in the foreground and the Galician hills in the distance. Really delightful. The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived and I can't recall ever coming across better. EVERY member of staff did there best to please and seemed to take genuine pleasure from being as helpful as possible. If you could bottle customer service, they'd be selling this lot in Harrods!
In the room, the fairly small sleeping area was complemented by a further "mini suite" / dressing area on the enclosed balcony (a feature of Galicia architecture). Spotlessly clean, bottled water and basket of sweets toppped up every day, very acceptable.
The garden is a little oasis and really charming. We ate breakfast out here twice and it is very popular, particularly with locals before dinner, for a drink and a few complimentry crisps/nuts/olives. Certainly no rowdies and if you enjoy the sound of people relaxing and enjoying themselves, the slight background sound this creates is actually quite pleasant...dare I say enticing!
Coming back to the breakfast, very simple but really delicious. Served in either the small breakfast room, the garden or the balcony overlooking the garden on the firts floor, we really looked forward to it every day. The toast with oil, fresh tomato sauce and local cheese just has to be sampled....over and over again! Add the toasted croissants, almond cake, great coffee and the amazing staff...it really was very good.
I have to concede that the comments made in or or two of the other reviews regarding the rather noisy staircase are fair and it did wake us on a couple of occasions. A simple carpet runner (maybe not very traditional in Galicia!) would cure 99% of the problem. However, a bit of concideration from those using it late at night/early in the morning would also go a long way to curing the problem. It certainly wouldn't stop us from returning, that's for sure.....and we will!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony (actually enclosed) overlooking the garden definitely worth the small supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 715 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is by far the best little hotel we have ever stayed at in 5 trips abroad. They can't do enough for each and every guest! Rooms are spotless and the hotel has a bar where you can have refreshments with free covert. Fresh squeezes orange juice starts the morning off while church bells peel. Coffee is by la machine....so perfect!!! Tea is HOT! Service is 5 STAR!! Great people.

Room Tip: just tell them what you want and they will please you... They wanted to move us to a bigger room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Following a 40 kilometre walk along the Camino Ingles into Santiago de Compostela from Bruma we were dead on our feet and ready to fall over. We chanced our luck by sticking our head into the reception area and thankfully met Roberto. The hotel was fully booked but he took control and showed us immediately across to an apartment across the road. Despite having a shared bathroom nobody occupied the other room so it was as good as an en suite as you could get anyway. Price - excellent. The staff, and expecially Roberto were fantastic and I recommend this hotel solely based on the level of service and personal attention we received from these guys...second to none and if I ever am lucky enough to return to this wonderful city I will make sure I book well in advance!
The room was comfortable for two weary Pilgrims and the shared bathroom was faultless.
Even if you're in Santiago go and spend an hour in the beautiful garden at the back of the hotel and have a coffee!
Fantastico!!!
Well done Roberto and the rest of your colleagues, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m00nman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a room overlooking the garden and hills beyond. The only negative is that the hot afternoon sun made the room hot and stuffy. I cannot say enough about the staff who were all so friendly and caring. The location is very convenient being just on the edge of the old town. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mash49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is in agreat position on a pedestrian area of the town. A public car park is close by and you get a reduced rate of about 9euros per day if you get your card stamped at the hotel. Great position, fantastic garden and a service that makes you feel like a VIP. The staff were consistently helpful, polite and attentive. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I liked everything about this hotel except one thing.
The staff are brilliant. The decor, design, craftsmanship in the fitting out, all first rate.
Good hot shower, plenty of water pressure.
Really I can only fault the fact that it is child friendly. I realise thats a definate plus for some people, but when the back garden is a creche it gets very noisy. It drove us out tonight and we stayed away til 8:30 til it had quietened down.
I know, I'm a grumpy old man. But if you want peace and quiet this is not the place to come. Other than that - really good (despite the car park being at the bottom of a steep hill!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a single room. I booked via email and was offered the choice of two rooms. I chose the slightly larger, "noisier" room. I was very happy with my stay in terms of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the location and cleanliness of the room. The breakfast was very tasty and worth the €5.50 even though I know you can get it cheaper elsewhere. The noise though really got me down and I did not sleep well either night. The noise was from people leaving the hotel from 5.30am on and also the noise of cars on the cobble stones. The receptionist did apologise and it was not their fault but for this reason only I would stay elsewhere next time, sorry!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gráinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $54 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing