We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best little hotel in all our travels!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best little hotel in all our travels!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is by far the best little hotel we have ever stayed at in 5 trips abroad. They can't do enough for each and every guest! Rooms are spotless and the hotel has a bar where you can have refreshments with free covert. Fresh squeezes orange juice starts the morning off while church bells peel. Coffee is by la machine....so perfect!!! Tea is HOT! Service is 5 STAR!! Great people.

Room Tip: just tell them what you want and they will please you... They wanted to move us to a bigger room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    105
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
301
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Following a 40 kilometre walk along the Camino Ingles into Santiago de Compostela from Bruma we were dead on our feet and ready to fall over. We chanced our luck by sticking our head into the reception area and thankfully met Roberto. The hotel was fully booked but he took control and showed us immediately across to an apartment across the road. Despite having a shared bathroom nobody occupied the other room so it was as good as an en suite as you could get anyway. Price - excellent. The staff, and expecially Roberto were fantastic and I recommend this hotel solely based on the level of service and personal attention we received from these guys...second to none and if I ever am lucky enough to return to this wonderful city I will make sure I book well in advance!
The room was comfortable for two weary Pilgrims and the shared bathroom was faultless.
Even if you're in Santiago go and spend an hour in the beautiful garden at the back of the hotel and have a coffee!
Fantastico!!!
Well done Roberto and the rest of your colleagues, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m00nman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a room overlooking the garden and hills beyond. The only negative is that the hot afternoon sun made the room hot and stuffy. I cannot say enough about the staff who were all so friendly and caring. The location is very convenient being just on the edge of the old town. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mash49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is in agreat position on a pedestrian area of the town. A public car park is close by and you get a reduced rate of about 9euros per day if you get your card stamped at the hotel. Great position, fantastic garden and a service that makes you feel like a VIP. The staff were consistently helpful, polite and attentive. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I liked everything about this hotel except one thing.
The staff are brilliant. The decor, design, craftsmanship in the fitting out, all first rate.
Good hot shower, plenty of water pressure.
Really I can only fault the fact that it is child friendly. I realise thats a definate plus for some people, but when the back garden is a creche it gets very noisy. It drove us out tonight and we stayed away til 8:30 til it had quietened down.
I know, I'm a grumpy old man. But if you want peace and quiet this is not the place to come. Other than that - really good (despite the car park being at the bottom of a steep hill!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a single room. I booked via email and was offered the choice of two rooms. I chose the slightly larger, "noisier" room. I was very happy with my stay in terms of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the location and cleanliness of the room. The breakfast was very tasty and worth the €5.50 even though I know you can get it cheaper elsewhere. The noise though really got me down and I did not sleep well either night. The noise was from people leaving the hotel from 5.30am on and also the noise of cars on the cobble stones. The receptionist did apologise and it was not their fault but for this reason only I would stay elsewhere next time, sorry!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gráinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at Costa Vella for a few days in July - could not have been better! It started with wonderful welcome upon arrival. During the entire stay staff was extremely helpful, very friendly and willing to assist us with any type of query any time. The hotel was very clean, with charming garden, yummy breakfasts. They were so nice and accommodating, that when we asked at the beginning of our stay what time we could have breakfast, the answer was: "any time - whenever WE want" . Although we live far away (in Australia), we will be back!!!! We have already recommended Costa Vella to our friends and hope they will be as happy and satisfied with their stay there (next year) as we are.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ode1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Property: Costa Vella Hotel
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing