We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place!”
Review of Costa Vella Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Compostela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Vella Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magic place!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

When I planned my Camino de Santiago I wanted a really nice place where to rest once arrived in Santiago. I decided for Hotel Costa Vella. Believe me, I did the right choice!
The hotel is located in the very city center and very close to the cathedral. The welcoming is fantastic and all the staff is really nice and make you feel at home! But the best part of it is the garden! I'm not gonna describe it too much as others did it already, and i really do not want to waste the surprise!
I stayed in the smallest room of the hotel I believe...but it was really cool and I could see from the window St. Francis church! All comforts are there!

Again, fantastic place! Just go there...it is worthed after a long walk!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    114
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
84
318
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Loaded with charm and comfort. This tiny hotel is very unique. They have a beautiful garden for meals and drinks and a breakfast room around the corner from our room that was almost a private lounge for us and our friends. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
It is a few short blocks from the cathedral, which was an advantage in being a little away from the crowds.
I made a reservation via their website - no credit card required. They stayed in touch via email to make remind us and to offer any advance help.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so the first floor (not the ground floor) was convenient but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Even before you get into the hotel, during the reservation process, Roberto and all his workmates makes you feel as an old friend. This boutique style place has few rooms with different characteristics. The whole place décor is performed with very good taste offering nice details on every corner. Impeccable service substitutes some shortages like an elevator or the size of some areas. Its location on the boundary of the pedestrian only area but very close to the cathedral makes it perfect for a one night or several days stay in Santiago. In fact, the quality of the accommodation at the nightly rate charged meant a very good value. For these reasons, the Costa Vella should be my first choice if I have the opportunity to return to this pretty city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just completed the camino de Santiago, and after having stay in albergues throughout, decided to splash out on a hotel in Santiago. This place was PERFECT! Really friendly staff went out of their way to make me feel at home. Perfect location, close to the cathedral, lovely breakfast and places to hang out. They even gave me the best restaurant recommendations for lunch and dinner in town, and were really helpful in booking my onward connections. Would stay here again if I ever end up in Santiago a second time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathrynDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent service and recommendations of restaurants. Their breakfast and the upstairs breakfast room is top-notch with beautiful views. The back garden a magical place to have drinks. I stayed in three different rooms over four days... all had their merits. Loved the location on the edge of historical center.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel after driving the Camino Frances from France. We loved the city, and this hotel was our favorite along the entire route. Our room overlooked the garden and terrace and had floor to ceiling windows (including in the bathroom). The view from there beyond the hotel was also quite wonderful. The room itself was fairly standard, but there was a second galleria/sitting room which was what looked over the garden.

The breakfast was quite ample. If you are interested, they will bring you a Galician breakfast that includes the local cheese and grated tomato--yum! You can have it in the bar on the first floor (or on the terrace, weather permitting) or in the lounge on the second and third floors that have a view to the garden, which is what we did.

By the way, the hotel is run by a family who have two other hotels within about a block of this hotel. We looked at the other two as well; both are also very nice. One is Danish-modern and the other more picturesque. So, if this one is full, ask about the other two.

Wonderful staff, as others have remarked, excellent English, very helpful for wee-hours departures to the airport. Am hoping to return sometime!

Room Tip: The street the hotel is on is very quiet, although centrally located; however, how could you not wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arleigh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here after walking parts of the Camino.
From the moment we checked in at the front desk we felt this was a special place. The location is great, its in the old town and part of the pedestrianised streets. It has the most lovely garden to relax in, when we were there they had a sculpture exhibition there amongst the trees and plants. The manager was able to tell us in 5minutes where the best places to walk were, the best authentic restaurants, where to go that isnt on the tourist map, the best local bars, the best walks...all circled for us on our map. He was spot on with his advice and we would never have found half of these gems without his tips. Our room had a wondeful outlook over the roof tops to church spires and the breakfast was great. Great small hotel, wonderful location and staff, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Vella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Vella Hotel

Property: Costa Vella Hotel
Address: Rua Porta da Pena 17, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#5 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#10 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic city. charming coffee terrace enclosed by the medieval wall. Place of historic interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Vella Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing