We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, stylish apartment, slightly spoiled by lack of sound proofing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catedral Suites Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Santiago de Compostela and can recommend these apartments. They are in an excellent location, near Alameda park and only a 10 minute walk to the cathedral. Having been recently refurbished, the decor is good and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, although storage space is a little limited. Whilst a stock of milk, water, tea and coffee was provided in the kitchen, together with a price list for its use, it would have been nice to be provided with a street map and the locations of grocery stores.

The Wi Fi can be temperamental and only works in certain parts of the apartment. As mentioned by the previous reviewer, the central light well transmits noise throughout the building, which can cause disturbance at night. The doors within the apartments close with a bang, and this noise travels throughout the building. The noise could be reduced if the owner fitted rubber bumpers to the doors.

The road at the front of the building can sometimes be busy and, consequently, traffic noise can be heard in the front bedroom and adjoining living room. The rear bedroom, however, is extremely quiet. On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again when re visiting Santiago.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our initial booking here was for three nights, but we loved Santiago de C so much we ended up spending five nights.

First the pros:
The apartment is very stylish and well equipped, with full kitchen facilities, including a Nespresso machine and a washing machine. It is spotlessly clean. The bed is very comfortable. There is plenty of cupboard and drawer space. The location is excellent being on the edge of a lovely park and a very easy stroll to the sites of the old town, lots of restaurants and bars, the daily fresh food markets, small convenience store and supermarket. The views from both sides of the loft are beautiful, with the living room looking over the park to the cathedral.
Now the cons:
The host didn’t live on site. He arrived only to check in new guests and receive payment. He told us that we could get him at all times by SMS which didn’t prove to be the case as we sent a couple of texts to which we got no reply. He spoke barely any English, and as I imagine a lot of guests come from English speaking countries some grasp of the language would certainly have been helpful!
From a self-help perspective there was no compendium, no local maps or brochures and none of the equipment had operating instructions in English. The Velux roof windows which provide such lovely outlooks have remotely controlled external screens. We asked how to work the screens so as to avoid bright sunlight streaming down on the bed early each morning. Our greeter pushed several buttons on the complicated remote control and said something unintelligible in Spanish before leaving. Unfortunately when both our great minds applied themselves to this remote device, all we succeeded in doing was bringing down one screen on the living room side and pressing so many buttons that the little electronic egg timer on the remote went into overdrive – obviously it was as confused as we were by this time. An emphatic SMS to our absent greeter saw him driving back in traffic much to the chagrin of all parties!
If you’re tall you’re going to spend a lot of time walking in a crouching position because of the very steeply sloping ceilings! Also the central light well of the building conducts a lot of noise from other apartments, especially if they have windows into the light well open.
Oh – and watch out for hidden costs. There was a fairly tatty price list for “mini bar” items but it was printed in yellow which had faded – thus was illegible. We were charged for the milk we used, and even more surprisingly for every Nespresso coffee capsule! Had we know this would happen we’d have had more coffee out – it would have been better and cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just spent my first night in this apartment and I could say that I slept better than in my own home. The view that welcomes you when u open the curtains is astonishing! All is green and you can see the roofs of the galician houses.

The location is perfect-3 minutes walk to the Cathedral, right next to the park in a silent street.

The design - extremly tasteful, makes you feel like you're in a interior design magazine, but with the warmth and cozyness of your own home.

Facilities-they offer you everything you need! The apartment is very spacios, it has a lot of drawers. Everything is in perfect condition, seems like they just renovated it.

Very comfortable white bed linens, 2 great pillows on each bed. I wish I could find something to be added, but I cannot.

I would highly recommend this place, as we were extremly well received and the price we paid for such a quality product and service is very low.

I am traveling with my parents, but I would definetly come back with my boyfriend, as the atmosphere is incredibly romantic.

I am really impressed by this accommodation, given that writing this review was the first thing I did after brushing my teeth in the morning :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It has a very modern decoration, very big private garden in the back (only one of the suites has) where you can enjoy a meal. The only problem is that Santiago can be a little windy some days. The living room has view to the garden with large windows.
Very clean, with nespresso machine (0,80€ with capsule).
Is very close to the Catedral and to a great park to walk and see the city.
We will recomend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PCAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights end of June in the attic apartment. The apartments are well designed with all the equipment you will need from washing machine to dishwasher and cooking utensils to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You will find the apartment exactly as the pictures in their webpage.

Check in was easy and we were picked up at the airport for an extra fee which made things easier for us who travel with luggage. The apartments have elevator and free access to internet. Only thing you should consider before taking the attic is that the roof is inclined and if you are tall or large size it can be annoying after a while. Also there is no air condition. This is usually not a problem, but Santiago had a heat wave of over 30 degrees and it was hot. Perhaps other apartments are less affected in case of heat waves but then you will loose the view from the attic windows.

The advantage of having an apartment is that you can go to the market and buy the freshest fish and vegetables or fruits and enjoy a nice dinner with a bottle of wine at your selected time. Taking into account that restaurants start rather late in Spain this is a real plus if you are tired from a sightseeing day. The apartment is close to the center at the edge of the historical town, close and far enough from the tourist crowds and tourist traps. Around the area there is a small grocery shop and a larger supermarket a little farther away and of course restaurants. All in all a comfortable stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Attic for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank SUS-ANITA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,785 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lux Santiago
Lux Santiago
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catedral Suites Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catedral Suites Santiago

Address: Travesia Cruceiro do Gaio no 3, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $65 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catedral Suites Santiago 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Catedral Suites Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing