We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff and location but......”
Review of Hotel Compostela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Compostela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here for four nights with my family and I wish I could write a kinder review for this hotel because the staff were exceptional. I have never experienced hotel staff so kind and helpful and willing to go that extra mile for their guests. Well done all of you!

Unfortunately, the most important thing for me in a hotel is the Wi-Fi signal, and at the Hotel Compostela, it's very poor in all areas. And it's the one reason I would not stay here again.

The breakfast was decent enough. The rooms were OK if a little on the small and bland side, and the old town and cathedral are just a few minutes walk away. But sorry guys, I have an internet business and using the Wi-Fi was just too frustrating..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street because it can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BangkokPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 557 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great location across the road from the airport bus stop and so convenient for the old town shops and restaurants. The staff at this hotel go the extra mile to keep guests informed and happy. When we checked in the helpful receptionist suggested we might like to catch the Saturday market before it closed at 2pm and what a delight it was!

Our room was bright and spacious with a balcony. The beds were superb, firm and comfortable. The bathroom was pristine.

There was a very good selection of meats, cheese, fruit, cakes and pastries etc at breakfast and delighted though we were, it would have been an added bonus to have tea & coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcompostela, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Compostela, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Happy to see you enjoyed the market, it is a nice place to visit . Thank you for your comments and we take note about tea and coffee facilities.Best regards from Hotel Compostela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Have just spent three nights at the hotel, the room we had was on the first floor overlooking the square although this can be a busy road and the weather was rather wet and windy the double glazing kept the noise out. The room was quite spacious and the beds were comfortable and it was nice to find that they have duvets on rather than blankets. It was also nice to have two pillows each rather than the usual three pillows between two.

The room had a safe and mini bar, a lovely bathroom and the temperature was controlled via the air-conditioning. As with many hotels in France and Spain there was no tea or coffee making facilities in room. I would also like to suggest that the room could benefit from having coat hooks in the hall to hang wet clothes.

The breakfast had a good range however the eggs, bacon and sausages would be better if they were in enclosed serving dishes to keep them warm. The coffee was first class as it was of ideal strength.

The location of the hotel is great especially if you arrive by air as the bus to and from the airport starts and finishes on the other side of the square. It is also so close to all the sites and the restaurants. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbk_works_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The staff are what makes this hotel stand out. Watching them deal with bus loads of tourists you appreciate their professionalism but they also yo the extra mile make their guests' stay pleasant and comfortable.
Great location within easy walking distance of the main attractions.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandyCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The town planners of Santiago have a lot to answer for. There are so many ugly buildings, it is fortunate that the pilgrims are too exhausted/elated to notice. The exterior of this hotel is nothing to write home about but inside, as everywhere in Galicia , are the most welcoming helpful Celts in the world. Hot baths here for those weary feet.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank mikefrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Fantastic hotel right across the road from old town and round corner from drop off for airport bus. Rooms clean, comfortable and roomy with good AC. Staff excellent, so willing to assist and friendly. Breakfast good tho eggs tasted artificial, but lots of other selections available. Would highly recommend to other Camino pilgrims for a treat after finishing walk!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location, the airport bus stop is just across the road and for 3 Euros per trip this saves a huge amount on cab fares. The hotel is just across the road from the beautiful old town, and is itself a lovely building. Rooms are large, clean, comfortable with good bathroom facilities. The breakfast buffet is very good with a large selection, the only criticism would be that the bacon, sausage and scrambled egg is often lukewarm - however the other items you can choose make up for this!
Staff are very friendly and helpful - I will look forward to returning to this hotel! Across the road is a lovely bar with helpful waiters.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#26 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#14 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Compostela

Address: Rua Horreo 1, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#15 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $80 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Compostela 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its wonderful location in the centre of the city, makes it the perfect place to your stay in Compostela, whether if come for tourist reasons or business. located in an hystorical building you will discover a cosy and warm atmosphere full of details like individual air condicioning, free wireless,minibar,safebox..to have your room as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Compostela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Hotel Santiago De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing