We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but sub par service and facilities.”
Review of Hotel Compostela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Compostela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location but sub par service and facilities. The hotel looks much better in pictures than in reality. It seemed to have been a great building once upon a time, but now it's a bit old and decayed. Service is sub-par; breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 576 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location as it is just off the crazy tourist area and next to a little park and a bus stop. The rooms are really cool and the bathroom excellent. Very clean and nicely designed throughout. The room was quiet and got a good nights sleep after soaking in the bath for hours. The staff were excellent and very helpful with my bike and also got a massage therapist to my room in a matter of hours. Good value for money considering the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kakebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel and found the room to be very clean and comfortable. The room was very big and allowed for a relaxing stay in this wonderful city. The hotel is in an excellent location and very central, right next to Praza Galicia where you can get the bus to the airport. There are many cafés, restaurants and a Burger King nearby should you arrive late and want a quick bite to eat. Very close to the cathedral and a nice park is nearby where you can take a walk. Room was clean and staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The hotel isn't as luxurious as I thought it might have been, though, but still was an enjoyable stay. Perhaps try to get a room away from the main street if you are bothered by noise at night. It didn't bother me at all, as I enjoyed having the balcony to overlook the square, but I understand how this might annoy some people at night. There is a minibar and safe in the room, but I was quite annoyed that the minibar had no decent drinks in it and all that was in it was in terrible condition and seemed like it had been there for a few years.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main street if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfast2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Barely "very good", but above average due to cleanliness, value, beds, and its centre of town location. Let down on the first visit due to road noise, we were much more rested after walking 112km along the Camino, and enjoyed the 2nd (2 night) stay much more. Interestingly, talking to the hotel directly yielded a better price than even some "discount" global search companies could offer..not tripadvisor I may add! Booking was awkward in broken Spanish, but worth it for the location near all the central streets that are the most reason to visit Santiago.Price was excluding breakfast, but when checking out we found it HAD been included! No loss, it wasn't very exciting the first time. Staff were pleasant, we didn't need much, so had little to do with them..booking could be clearer, I had to be put through to another person twice to make the booking.

Room Tip: get a room off the main road! VERY noisy, and not sound proofed well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed three nights in this hotel perfectly situated between the old town (for the sights) and new town (for the shopping). All the sights and the going out bars are reachable within 5 minutes walking. Yet the area is at least a block away from the loud night crowed in Santiago.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and spotless clean. If i have to critize something it would be that my room was not the biggest and since the room was towards the quite inside courtyard there was little daylight (which didnt bother me at all since I was hardly in the room during the day).

The staff was always friendly and very helpful, organising a rental car on short notice on a sunday and giving valuable information on the city and region.

To sum up a great, well located hotel, with good service which offers good value per money and which well deserves its four stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereintheworldisgpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a one night stay in Hotel Compostela on Monday this week. Really convenient location for checking out the old town. Staff extremely professional and friendly. Very modern decoration for such an old building. Quite wide corridors, which gave the impression of size. While the room was fine for a one night stay, I wouldn't like to be staying a week in it. The window was frosted and when you opened it it looked out on an enclosed courtyard, which while nice,made the room dark. At €103.50 a night (without breakfast and that was including an early booking discount) I thought it was a bit pricey. It was also quite noisy early in the morning, obviously a lot of people checking out early - why don't people consider those of us who don't have to be up early and not have full blown loud conversations while walking the corridor!!!!

However, it was clean, modern, convenient and comfortable (The bed was a little hard, but that's just personal preference).

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night, would definitely request a room overlooking the square at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked a triple toom ,but one wasn't available when my daughter wanted to checked in early in the day. She had hiked the camino and was anxious to get in a room. They gave her a single room and us a double room for the duration of our stay! This was fabulous, since she had been in alberques with many people for 35 days. Couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. The beds were very comfortable. We had heard it could be noisy here, but we were away form the main street and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwhitfi280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#22 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Araguaney
Eurostars Araguaney
#24 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Compostela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Compostela

Address: Rua Horreo 1, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#12 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $82 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Compostela 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its wonderful location in the centre of the city, makes it the perfect place to your stay in Compostela, whether if come for tourist reasons or business. located in an hystorical building you will discover a cosy and warm atmosphere full of details like individual air condicioning, free wireless,minibar,safebox..to have your room as you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Compostela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compostela Hotel Santiago De

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing