We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price - I would stay there again”
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fair price - I would stay there again”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Pros
• Location: it was 5 to 10 minutes of walking distance from the Old Town
• Breakfast: it was included in the room price and it had a lot of food options
• Service: they were nice and always helpful
Cons
• The internet connection, although free, was very slow; we couldn’t browse the web
• The parking was a couple of blocks away. It has a special tariff for the hotel guests of about 9 euros per day

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MateoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    71
    42
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
77
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed in the hotel San Carlos in September this year. I really liked the location, in the centre, close to the historic centre. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is great! Tom

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Although we've just stayed one night the experience was very positive. The staff at the reception and the one we met on corridors was always extremely polite and helpful. The hotel is located at a very busy street, but there is a parking place at a 1 minute walk if you are travelling with your care.
The room we've stayed in, although a little bit small for people and luggage, was very modern and had all the amenities and things necessary to spend a very confortable night there.
Personally the most positive point of the hotel is the location: only a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral, with various shops and places to eat on the way.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptkaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Just a five min walk form the historic centre, parking is 9€. Our room was spacious and nice, the staff quite rude. WiFi was free but rather slow. Breakfast was basic. All in all, worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Good location just a short walk away from the main tourist attractions. If arriving by car from the south then be aware then that in June 2010 the whole road system around the railway station was being dug up as part of extensive road works. This caused us a few unwanted detours. The hotel is clean an tidy with good facilities and breakfast. Unfortunately the young lady doing the breakfasts was extremely rude to us on the morning we left, just after I'd paid our 360 euro bill, which rather spoiled our impression of the hotel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank fred137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Clean hotel in a convenient location, just minutes away from the train station. This Hotel was very close to the old part of town and the main attractions. The staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms were spacious and well maintained.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, conenient location, clean rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Great seafood restaurants in the old part of town. Weather is unpredictatable
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The-Mimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. The rates were reasonably pricey for a 3 star (about £80/night), but this is because it was Easter and because it is pretty central.

The rooms were clean and were a decent size for a 3 star, and there was a buffet breakfast consisting of toast, cold meats, pastries etc. The guy at the front desk didn't speak too much English but was friendly and the hotel was very quiet.

The location was excellent. It's about a 10-15 minute stroll up the hill to the cathedral, but only about a 5 minute walk to the top of the hill where you feel you're in the town centre. It's situated opposite the Galician Parliament building which is a good looking building and there is a little supermarket type shop just up the road which proved handy. The train station and car hire depots are at the bottom of the road (about 2 minutes walk) which is handy if you want to go on a day trip, which we did to La Coruna (recommended).

Overall, I enjoyed staying here and would recommend it if you are looking for a nice, simple hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#11 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nest Style Santiago
Nest Style Santiago
#50 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lux Santiago
Lux Santiago
#20 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Araguaney
Eurostars Araguaney
#25 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#41 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Property: Hotel San Carlos
Address: Rua Horreo 106, 15701, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing