We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant, but not wow”

Restaurante A Tafona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, but not wow”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Food it's good but not best.
Good wines and great service.
A bit pricy I think. Portion too small for price - small cup of soup €8, starters very small €12-15.
Main courses €20-35

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 884888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    86
    38
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
174 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Que guay!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Phenomenal food, at very reasonable prices! We tried the menú del mercado with 8 dishes, at less than EUR 40. Each dish was a surprise and prepared to perfection. The chef is a real star! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent and surprising fixed rate menu.

Not a lot of choices but amazing value for your money

We´ll definitely come back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and great fun”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had lunch here yesterday with a group of friends including two children and a baby. I've been before and it is clear this is one of the most popular restaurants in Santiago. This is the quiet season and I suspect there were few if any visitors in the restaurant - a great sign when the place is full!

As ever the food was first class. We had a varied menu. Brocheta with deep green olive oil, magnificent crusty bread, creamy croquettes and the most tender grilled octopus were the starters we shared. This was accompanied by a light white Ribeiro wine.

Most people opted for the fish main course - a lightly cooked fillet of Hake (Merluza) served on a bed of crushed potatoes. The meat course was Carillera de Ternera - slow cooked braised cheek so tender my fork went through it like a hot knife through butter. This was accompanied by an unusual barley sauce.

However one criticism would be that the kitchen had been quite heavy handed with the seasoning and this may have given other diners problems. Tell them in advance if you don't like salt!

The big red Mencia served with the meat went very well with the dessert of light and dark chocolate mousse with nougat. Delicious.

The children laughed and whooped as they opened the Christmas crackers imported from England. A baby seat appeared without being requested for the baby. The staff was extremely friendly and the whole experience was great fun - with some serious eating involved.

My experience of this restaurant is entirely good - when something isn't perfect they immediately do everything they can to set things right. I just wish restaurants in cold and wet Galicia would heat the plates!

I'd eat here again in a jiffy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWalkerSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service. Modern spanish deliciousness”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have to recommend this restaurant. After walking the Camino and being heartily sick of the pilgrim Spanish food we decided to give Spanish food one last go - as I didn't want to leave Spain with a bad impression. Wow! We opted for the degustation menu as a special treat - every course was sublime, even the octopus - which I hadn't been to sure on trying, was delicious. Absolute impeccable service and very reasonably priced. Thanks to the chef and waiter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessH087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante A Tafona also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Restaurante A Tafona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing