We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cheap and centric hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Universal
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice cheap and centric hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nicely decorated rooms; hotel seems to have been recently renovated.
The location is very central and you can leave your car at a public parking in front of the hotel.
We did not have breakfast but it looked quite good for 7.5 Euros per person.

The only negative thing is the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms. This will certainly not be an issue during 95% of the summer days but unfortunately there was a heat wave during the weekend we stayed in Santiago.
Leaving this aside, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    145
    99
    22
    15
See reviews for
69
144
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is basic but very clean and the staff are very helpful. It is based a 2 minute walk from the cathedral and bars and restaurants in the old part of town. I have stayed many times and
always enjoyed the experience.

The rooms on the front tend to be noisy with the bus stop below so ask for a room on the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigglywuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well located next to the entrance to the old city, but we got woken up by noise (doors, lifts, voices) both mornings. The rooms are very clean and modern but the wifi never worked, despite our numerous complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_lewis_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,071 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

great place. amazing location, on foot u can reach all the most important places of the city cos it's located in the city center. good also cos it's in front of the bus station of the airport. basic rooms and nothing special alll the rest

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I booked 3 nights at the Husa Universal as a cheaper option having stayed at the San Martin Pinariuo. At 40 Euro's per night I didn't expect much, and that's what I got. The carpets are torn and dirty, the walls damaged, the room itself was OK, although the window over a closed atrium where someone practised his saxophone in the next building was pretty gruesome. The breakfast was basic to say the least and I was not the only person who walked in, looked and walked out again. But that's not the worst part. The builders arrived on the second day with jackhammers and buckets of cement and literally ripped the next room apart. The noise and dust were unbearable. Not one word of explanation from the management. Having prepaid I knew I was on a hiding to nowhere if I asked for compensation so I just moved out....the only plus point for this hotel is it's location, but then there are many others in the same area so why bother.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago de Compostela hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Santiago for the weekend and stayed in this hotel for two nights. We had originally been torn between this hotel and another one in the Husa chain which had a 3-star rating but was a bit further out of the centre. I'm glad we chose this one, as the location couldn't have been better. It's just steps away from shops, bars and restaurants, and the main square (with its beautiful cathedral) is less a 5 minute walk away. It is also very conveniently just around the corner from the bus stop from which the bus to the airport leaves every half an hour.

As for the hotel itself, it was very basic but that was to be expected, and for a 2-star hotel it really wasn't bad at all. The bed was comfortable which is the most important thing, the bathroom had everything you need (including a hairdryer) and everywhere was clean. The only slight problem is that the rooms don't have air-conditioning, so it did get a bit hot at times but it was tolerable. However, if you were go in the peak of summer it might be a problem. Other than that, my only criticisms are that there was a bit of peeling paint on the wall of our room, and a plug socket that was hanging out of the wall and looked quite dangerous, so we didn't use it just to be safe. Neither of these things really bothered us much though.

Finally, I have to mention the staff at this hotel because they are excellent. They were always polite, professional and very helpful. We arrived at the hotel quite early (around 10.30-11am) so weren't sure if there would be a room ready for us. However, the man behind reception told us he had one room available which we could have straightaway, but that if we didn't like it he could put us in a different one later on. As it turned out, we didn't like the first room as it was very dark, smelt of smoke and was quite noisy as it was next to the breakfast room. So we asked for a different room on a higher floor that didn't smell of smoke, and they gave us exactly what we wanted with no problems. In fact, they gave us a room on the top floor with a nice view of Santiago and the cathedral. So if you're not happy with something then it's worth asking, as we found the staff very understanding and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helzbelz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Santiago Lux
Santiago Lux
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nest Style Santiago
Nest Style Santiago
#50 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residencia Fornos
Residencia Fornos
#49 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#33 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#34 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Praza Galicia 2, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain (Formerly Husa Universal)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Universal 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in the very centre of Santiago de Compostela. The old city, with its emblematic cathedral, and the main shopping and business areas are just a short walk away. The rooms include an en-suite bathroom, heating, double glazing, a direct telephone line and TV. There is a social room with a TV and Canal Plus. The hotel also offers a breakfast room, laundry service and a safe deposit box at reception. Ryan Air buses stop right by the hotel’s door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Universal Santiago De Compostela
Husa Universal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing