We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
32
40
19
19
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
40
19
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely garden would definitely stay here again minute walk facilities camino cathedral
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 134 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

The building itself is amazing. Beautiful house and beautiful garden. Good facilities and clean rooms but the management has a problem with their temper. I got yelled at from the manager (bald man) when I made a silly joke and a friend of mine got yelled at from the blond lady for using the "wrong" toilet.
They have a serious problem of managing their temper apparently as we're not the only one that have been yelled at.
Also very expensive comparing to others as there's nothing special about it (no breakfast included for instance).
Managers should really rethink their attitude and if they're tired of working with tourists maybe they should consider changing their job.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank aprilsfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Overall, a good experience and I would do it again! The hostel has a homely atmosphere, definitely not a party hostel but great to chill! Facilities and cleanliness are fine and there is a great kitchen in the garden! I loved it :)

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_brightside17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

As it's a lot of pilgrims in the hostel, it's really important that you can sleep, but unfortunately the beds are quite old in this hostel and they make a lot of noise, so every time you turn around in the bed, the thin metal cracks and if no one else wakes up, you do.
It's a lovely place otherwise, with a beautiful garden and a nice chilled atmosphere, kitchen, lounge, bar and everything else you may need.
The fact that so many people stay there makes it even more worth it to invest in some new furniture, and maybe also to fix some doors, so you don't need to slam them to close.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank HNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

The hostel is okay, but the staff are extremely unhelpful and completely rude. Got yelled at because I couldn't get the printer to work and I had to put extra coins into the machine for it to finally print. When I asked if I could get the 30 cents back (it was only 1.20 cents to print something and I ended up paying 1.50) she started yelling at me and slammed the door in my face.

She's so worried about returning me the 30 cents that in the long run she'll probably loose more money because people will look at the reviews and see how rude the staff are!! Whatever you do, do not stay here!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

The roots and boots hostel is a very beautiful and relaxed place with an amazing view of the cathedrale and a nice garden. It is perfectly located, directly next to the park and only a 2 minutes walk to the old town. The rooms and bathrooms are ok for normal needs and they also provide lockers (you can rent a lock). The staff is really friendly and tries to help with everything. They have a little restaurant and offer drinks, food, breakfast, so you can just relax in the garden after a long walk

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank janas253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews