We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place recomended by Rick Stein”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abastos 2.0

Abastos 2.0
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taberna When? Vermouth fromTuesday to Saturday_ SnacksandDinner fromTuesday to Saturday_ Dinners behind closed doors_from It's closed on Sunday #CocinaMiuda-Small servings (in the vermouth session or as snacks or dinner) WHITOUT reservation_ A new daily manu that consists in 6 small dishes and another section of dishes which are know as Appetizers or Dish to share. The menu changes according to what is available in the food market. It's not market cuisine but Cuisine with products from the market. WITH reservation_ Menu made with products from the food market=21€ Our bar-table is managed by time slots where you can enjoy a Menu from the market as well as 6 different dishes offered that day with a price of 21€. Once there, we can enlarge this menu by adding to share dishes or appetizers or meat and desserts.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place recomended by Rick Stein”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hunted it out after Rick featured it on his Spanish food programme. Only has room for 16 formal diners. all the food is local mostly fish you eat what they have. the wine and brandy were very good. The brothers who run it were great at trying to explain what we were eating. The goose barnacles are a true local delicacy, the baby squid cooked in its own ink and the other five dishes, including razor clams "which I'm not sure about" finishing with a fillet of veal stake all for £20 each fantastic

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    329
    101
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Should have a Michelin star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Unique location as part of the Santiago market, serving only Galician food and wine. We chose the 9 course menu served in the restaurant opposite the tapas bar (by night the place takes up both halves of the street and is bustling!). Exceptionally reasonably priced (35 euros each plus 10 euros for 4 matching wines) and quality equivalent to, or exceeding, any Michelin star restaurant we have eaten in. lovely staff who spoke fair English, good sized portions and a fascinating range of dishes - from octopus to razor clams and apples marinaded in lime and lemon.

Wonderful atmosphere and a tremendous experience.

Without exaggeration one of the most memorable meals we have had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldmonkeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Groovy, great food, excellent service (and good seats!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We heard about this restaurant from an few places, including TA and references from friends.

After visiting the Santiago market this morning, we stopped by, but the shutters were still down. We went back in the early afternoon and it was humming.

We were made to feel cosy and comfy as soon as we arrived - took the tapas special and a glass of wine each.

Each tapas dish was carefully prepared and very tasty. The Galicia pie first - which seemed to be served to everyone, even those who had just ordered a beer. The restaurant has seats outside that look inward, and inside looking either outward, or to the back of the restaurant.

The two best tapas were the sardine wrapped around a small round red pimento, and the dish with various spring veggies in a lovely broth with a poached egg and croutons.

Great food - great value - exceptionally attentive and enjoying their job staff. Nothing but good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koyich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Exceptional quality and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had hoped to visit the restaurant after reading the reviews but could only access the Tapas Bar. This was an adjunct to the market and was full of people sitting outside, having a beer, a glass of wine and something to eat. We managed to find a space inside and the staff were really helpful in finding space for my wife who was in a wheelchair. Food was listed on screens and as they ran out were taken off the list. The quality and prices were as the title says exceptional and the staff spoke good English and were helpful in explaining the dishes. It was my first attempt to eat Percebes and they kindly showed me how to access the meat. As far as I could tell the beer was served by gravity, it was certainly less gassy and although not a real ale was very drinkable.
A place that you must visit. If I could I'd be back in a heartbeat trying to get into either the bar or the restaurant. Excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is fine dining without the pomp!
We ate as part of a huge group of 15 and were treated to a 14 course taster menu that had to be tasted to be believed. Everything was SUPERB. Fun atmosphere, waiters brilliant, wine yummie. I'm dying to go back.... Give this place a michelin star!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moffireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abastos 2.0 also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Abastos 2.0? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing