We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Algotels
$294
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,998)
Filter reviews
2,998 results
Traveler rating
2,068
607
195
80
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,068
607
195
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel the main square self guided tour historic building main restaurant steeped in history pilgrims arriving amazing building luxury hotel standard room fantastic location breakfast buffet is camino walk old town hospital museum spain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 2,998 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2019

We were there for two nights at the end of our Camino Portugues, had stayed at two Parador locations prior to Santiago (Tui, Pontevedra) . You are impressed with this historical building and it's great location but we had mixed feelings once we left. We had a large room on the first level, room 104 and the noise level from the outside was constant, the Galician bagpipe music was continuous until late at night. Some of the staff were rude and indifferent to the guest, this is not how you maintain a 5 star rating. It's about customer service, make the guest feel why he chose to stay at Paradores.

Room tip: Avoid room 104 too much outside noise
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernando o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Very impressive building, beautifully placed on the huge square next to the Cathedral.
Beautiful and quiet yards - and historically interesting.
The ultimative place to stay in Santiago de Compostela!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank henrikhalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

A gorgeous,up market hotel full of history (it was originally a hospital I believe). Grand rooms are inter- dispersed with little courtyard gardens, a lovely quad to sit out and enjoy the evening sun. The grand event dining room is an old chapel and is sumptuously decorated. Dinner in the restaurant was good, but some of the tapas bars out in town were better. Visit here for the architecture rather than the atmosphere.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank AlexH0lmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Stayed right in the main square in this historic hotel. We stayed here many years ago and what a good job they have made here since then. There is a living museum with captions and the 4 courtyards are a pleasure to walk in.
The breakfast is lovely.
Our room was spacious and quiet with a modern bathroom. A joy to stay here. Although
Amigos we booked the Peregrino rate.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

Loved our stay here but I would recommend scheduling your arrival early by either staying somewhere else the night before if will arrive late to be able to enjoy the hotel. It has such a rich history and the rooms, the building and the restaurants need to be explored to fully appreciate the hotel. It is fantastic. I would recommend the prefix meal that you can purchase as well as the breakfast. The tables overlook the square so you can see the pilgrims arrival into Santiago. We had a great experience. It was nice to just sit in some of the common areas to relax after the long Camino walk. Make time to enjoy the hotel. It is expensive to stay here so I would make time to appreciate it. We didn't realize it was the oldest hotel in the world. The carvings and artwork throughout are worth a look.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews