We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Nearby Hotels
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela(Santiago de Compostela)
$99
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Compostela(Santiago de Compostela)
$104
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mirador de Belvis(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Altair Hotel(Santiago de Compostela)
$122
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Capitol Boutique Hotel(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Carris Casa de la Troya(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Rua Villar(Santiago de Compostela)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Virxe da Cerca(Santiago de Compostela)
$151
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel(Santiago de Compostela)(Great Value!)
$139
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Los Abetos(Santiago de Compostela)
$80
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveler rating
1,280
448
134
55
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
448
134
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelthe main squareself guided tourroyal hospitalfour posterliving historyhistoric buildingamazing buildingthe main dining roompilgrims arrivingterrace barhuge bathroomluxury hotelold worldbreakfast buffetpublic roomsjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

In older times the Parador served as a hostel for pilgrims after reaching the shrine to St James in the adjacent cathedral. Beautifully appointed, it retains what one imagines to be a medieval atmosphere with its gorgeous antiques, the slightly subdued lighting and monastery tranquility in the galleries, cloisters and passageways, all contained by vast granite walls, .
Set on the historic Praza do Obradoiro, itself surrounded by grand college buildings, a walk in the evening through the old city reinforces its place deep in Spanish history.
There are a wealth of dining opportunities nearby but the Parador itself has a very fine restaurant and kitchen, so you won't want to go too far for a good meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location and very close to Camino certificate office/cathedral/shops and accommodations. The interior gardens are stunning. Large, modern bathrooms. The front-desk service was great as was the breakfast buffet. Rooms by alley could be noisy. No gym.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank skis779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Well if you love an historical hotel you can't beat this .Location right on the main square with a view of the cathedral and all the pilgrims who finish their walk there. If you take a car you can pay for valet parking,but you won't need it in the city as the old bit is small. We got directions from the hotel on how to approach via what appears to be a pedestrian only area. Don't go without these.
,Google tries to send you up roads with bollards.
The hotel has several beautiful courtyards and a great view of the square from the breakfast room. The breakfast buffet was excellent and you are unlikely to want much lunch later Staff were efficient and polite but are not fluent English speakers apart from those doing the check in.
There was a sort of bistro which we chose for our first meal rather than the more formal dinning room with a piano player. This was a big mistake on our part we should have gone there. We chose veal escalopes ,potato and small green peppers. Our meat was literally swimming in blood , the little peppers and chips were very heavily salted . I do not eat meat that has not been cooked through .I had trouble explaining this because of my lack of Spanish and although they did heat it up a bit more it was still uneatable. Maybe this is how it was meant to be cooked ,but I have come across this before. The next night we ate out and enjoyed our meal
The room was clean and comfy but it was a bit dark because it's an old building.Enjoyed the experience and will ignore the dreadful meal due to enjoying everything else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catheeTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed two nights at this parador, which is located right next to the cathedral and the end of the St. James walk. We had dinner in the old "morgue" and the sole was among the best I have had. The rooms were fine. Ours was on the back of the property and once we found the right elevator to take, it worked out fine. It is great to stay at a place with such character and historical significance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a way to end the camino! Walked 151 km in 8 days. Was every thing I expected and more. Large room with sitting area. Filled with beautiful antiques. Lovely decor. Food & service was fantastic. The front office ck in & out all very helpful. Location,location couldn't be better. In the beautiful Praza do Obradoiro with something always going on. The art , history & gardens of this parador is just amazing. Even if you don't stay here, it is a must see. Enjoyed everything about it.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank poppy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews