We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Certificate of Excellence
Somers, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, location!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is in a superb position to see all the sights of the old city and be right amongst the action. The rooms are large and tastefully furnished with antiques or copies. The ambience of the hotel really brings the history of the building alive. It is certainly a great place to stay at the end of your journey to Santiago De Compostela.
However our stay was marred by an unsatisfactory incident at the Terrace cafe. An order of bacon,egg and cheese sandwich came with the cheese still encased in its plastic wrapper. The waitress didn't seemed perturbed at all when shown and simply removed the plate and brought back another sandwich. No apology offered! The replacement came without implements which had to be requested and we were billed for the sandwich. Not what you would expect of staff, especially one working in an establishment of this high a standard, nor plastic wrapped cheese. We would recommend NOT eating at this venue.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    368
    108
    45
    19
See reviews for
309
793
83
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

After hiking the Camino our group of 2 couples spent two magical nights at this very special parador. We had beautiful rooms and a very restful experience. The staff were extemely pleasant and helpful. Due to some construction, there was some noise in one of our rooms, but the management took special care to be sure our second(and last night) was in a very quiet room. Turns out it an especially elegant room next to where the pope stayed! We greatly appreciate how hard they worked to find us an appropriate room.

We loved the history of the hotel and took the special self-guided tour available to hotel patrons. As a pilgrim, to stay in the very "hospital" where pilgrims were greeted during the time of Isabel and Ferdinand was very meaninful. It made the end of our trek especially wonderful. .

We had delicious breakfasts and each evening enjoyed the very comfortable bar and terrific cocktails. Our favorite were the generous gin and tonics! The price of the rooms was very reasonable considering what we paid in Madrid! I would highly recommend this hotel to any pilgrim or to any other person who wants to enjoy the unique history of Santiago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing location and amazing historical place to stay. 15th century hospital building turned into a hotel.
Right on the cathedral square and a fabulous place to stay for seeing the sights and exploring the many bars and cafés in Santiago. Breakfast served in a stunning room overlooking the square.
Modern bathrooms and stunning old rooms with four poster beds. We had great service.
Yes a few things that are a little annoying - squeaky floors, air con not very effective and the bagpipe player outside but what do you expect in probably the oldest most historical hotel in the world. Enjoy it for everything it is.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Applepippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear David,

Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. Currently, we are improving our AC machine. I hope to see you again in this Parador.

I will report your opinion to the staff.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

as they are usually historical buildings that have been changed into a hotel. This is the second visit to this Parador, and it did not disappoint me. Rooms are filled with antiques (or a good facsimile of) and the bathrooms are large and modern. You cannot beat the location of this Parador as it is on the main square of the old part of Santiago; the main church a few hundred yards away. Good breakfast buffet. Beware, Parador will quote a price for room and fullboard (three meals) a day, which is very expensive. Just get breakfast.
Employees can be snooty, ignore and go for the experience. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Treat yourself to a piece of living history. Commissioned by Ferdinand & Isabella in the 1490's as a hospital this Parador is magnificent & updated to a fine hotel & dining experience. Right on Cathedral Square in Santiago de Compostela you're right in the heart of the old city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Unless you are prepared for unsmiling service, poor English skills, creaking and hard to lock doors. I guess being state owned , management of it is not quite up to the standards of 5 star hotels and the staff are not so incentivised. The position is great being next to the cathedral but just behind it is a convent hotel which is cheaper and better as it's quieter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff.
Sorry, and I apologize for it, if you had the feeling of attention of our staff. We usually have positive comments on that aspect, but will pass on your comments to all staff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicheno, Tas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We drove from gijon to santiago de compostella and as we entered the centre of town we thought, this can't be right, the GPS is taking us into the main square and the pedestrian zone. What a location, it was right, ground zero! Then you check-in, the hotel is somewhat overwhelming in grandeur but it has been beautifully modernised and the rooms are fabulous. We had room 401 which faces away from the afternoon sun so we didn't have the aircon issues. The room is long and spacious. We spent 3 nights at this paradore and loved it! Dinner in the restaurant is also a must, just for being in that room alone, vaulted ceilings and grand piano.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KylewithaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio_Castro_Marcote, Gerente at Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel. I will report your opinion to the staff. I hope to see you again in this Parador.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
768 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Property: Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Address: Praza Obradoiro 1, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hospital, late 15th century pilgrim¿s hostelCombining history, art and tradition, the goal of pilgrims and the emblem of St. James, the Hostal dos Reis Católicos, in the Plaza do Obradoiro, forms together with the cathedral one of the world’s most remarkable, and most visited, urban settings. The Hostal, which first saw life as a Royal Hospital in 1499 to house the many pilgrims arriving in Santiago, today still invites the traveller to enjoy this universal and fascinating city. Considered the oldest hotel in the world, it is also one of the most luxurious and beautiful. It has four extremely beautiful cloisters, elegant public rooms, spectacular bedrooms and a luxurious dining room offering Galician style fish and meats and the classic apple filloa pies and crème brulee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santiago De Compostela Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing